Laser Cutting 💥 (A3)

Gina Lee
3 min readJan 26, 2018

Let me preface by saying that this was the most excited I had ever been about an assignment in a long time. Laser cutting is thrilling!

lasers are pretty cool

Not knowing where to start or what I wanted to build, I wandered around the Makerspace for inspiration. I came across coasters, landscape models, and a game board with pieces. There were so many cool items, but since I was aiming for something practical for daily use, I continued my search. Eventually, I came across a very simple laptop stand made of two pieces. I figured that I could use a laptop stand and make it more structurally sound, so I returned to search for more inspiration online. Browsing Pinterest, I came across some interesting and inspirational designs. One project requirement was that we couldn’t use adhesives or additional materials beyond our 18x24” Matboard. With a concept in mind, I started sketching and made measurements on my computer to make sure it would work.

initial concept sketches

Having been my first time laser cutting, I tried to ask some friends who had cut before for guidance and clarity on measurements and using Rhino. Trying to learn a new design tool was tricky at first, but I was able to pick it up and design a laptop stand within an hour. My first iteration was too high and wobbly, so I went back to the drawing board and adjusted my measurements for a more ergonomic and sturdy design.

What changed the second time around?

The first iteration of the laptop stand was too steep and wobbled every time I typed. To adjust the angle, I had a friend hold a ruler vertically in front of my hands while I adjusted my palms to find a comfortable typing height. As for the sturdiness, I assessed that the issue came from a lack support in the center and loose notches, so I cut an additional support and reduced my notch size from .05 inches to .048 inches.

the second iteration!

Since I printed the second iteration, I have been utilizing my stand daily and I think my posture has improved (to some degree)! I think the hardest part was thinking how each piece would fit in, making sure all of the measurements were consistent. I also wasn’t sure if the stand would be ergonomic (it wasn’t the first time around) because I hadn’t modeled it (I most definitely should have). In the future, I’ll continue working with the laser cutter to make more tools and practice designing physical objects.

--

--

Gina Lee

UX Designer in Seattle / graduate of HCDE at UW (‘18)