Birthday blues and wishes.

Nualee
3 min readJul 7, 2024

--

22.05.2024.

The sky is blue, the weather is warm, it’s a good day to be born.

Today is my birthday and boy oh boy. It’s currently 4 pm and I’m seated in this nice cafe sipping on purple rain, scribing words in my journal, and listening to today’s episode of ISWIS. I’m expected to be working today but I wouldn’t dare. I do not know what turn today will take but I have a feeling it will go well.

I thought long and hard about how to mark my birthday this year, I had a lot of options but finally settled for this solo date. I plan to make it a habit to celebrate my birthday every year because what’s there not to celebrate about transitioning to a higher level of adulthood with all its drama?

Where does sadness come from abruptly amid all the love and joy on birthdays, was it a silent curse to Adam?

I cried a bit earlier today and I don’t even know why because I’m having a really good day. With the age I’m turning crying should no longer be a flex. I’ll write it as one of my goals to reduce the amount of tears I excrete per day. But come to think of it, crying has always been my thing, how will I dump it now because of age. Omo, I’ll cry if need be oh, what am I expected to do when a bus conductor shouts at me, fight him? Hell no, cry? Hell yesss.

Anyways how do I feel? Grateful and free, I’ve been excited about my birthday since the start of the month and I am grateful the thought of aging finally appeals to me, the concept of learning and unlearning, shedding and becoming, I’m grateful for this grace. For freedom, I don’t know what exactly I feel free from, one who has never known bounds but I feel free, free from expectations and the need for explanation. I’ve shaken the weary hands of society off my neck and I’m living this life.

Most especially I feel at peace, and this peace emanates from the love of the Father. I feel at peace with where I am at, subduing the need to always do, I’m embracing this quiet life God has given me, accepting that my life is what I make of it, and everything I desire is already within me.

Nobody talks about the stainless audacity that comes with aging as a woman, you uncover all the lies you’ve been fed and carefully rewrite all you’ve been taught.

I really enjoy solo dates, I should do this more often this year.

It’s 9 pm and I and Bma are wrapping up at this nice restaurant. We’ve had wine, food, and cake over hearty conversations. As much as I’d love to continue having these ridiculous conversations slightly tipsy, unfortunately, tomorrow is not my birthday and my HR does not have an ear for excuses.

I had a really good day and I love my friends so much.

My biggest goal for this age is to not live a lie, I want to live my life as honestly as possible.

Song of the day: Love on Weekends by SDC

It’s a weekday actually but what’s there not to love?

Peace, love, and chicken.

--

--