Employee Experience re-visited

Leeni Harmainen
3 min readJan 31, 2020

--

Employee Experience is a topic that naturally draws me in. It’s my navigational focus point.

A great employee experience leads to great customer experiences and organisational success.

A few years ago, I wrote my first article about Employee Experience on LinkedIn starting with the above sentence. I want to revisit the topic and share my thoughts on the matter after starting in my role as a Culture and People Experience Lead at Idean, a global strategic design agency with roots in Finland, currently part of the Capgemini Invent family.

What is Employee Experience and why does it matter?

To refresh our memory (or to learn something new), here’s a short definition of Employee Experience.

Employee Experience is the employee’s perception of everything that happens when he or she interacts with a company, from recruiting to onboarding, to career development and offboarding.

This perception consists of three equally important parts; 1) Culture and Engagement, 2) Physical Environment, and 3) Technical Environment.

Employee Experience defined.

Why this term, EX, has gained an increasing amount of attention is due to its apparent impact on the success of companies. In an MIT research from 2017, a clear connection was found between the level of employee experience and different success factors, essential for any business.

Enterprises with top-quartile employee experience achieve twice the innovation, double the customer satisfaction, and 25 percent higher profits than organisations with a bottom-quartile employee experience.

– Source: MIT CISR Research Briefing (2017) “Building business value with employee experience”, in Deloitte’s Human Capital Trends, 2019.

Alone this result should secure a strategic focus on Employee Experience for any company.

What connects me with Employee Experience?

A passion. Since my entrepreneurial years at Pixels Helsinki I have been fascinated by the topic and yearned to better understand “How might we create workplaces that people want to work in?” and “How might this make a difference in our organisational success?”.

In my role as a Culture & People Experience Lead at Idean, my goal is to help create, nurture and measure our Employee Experience internally and with our clients. I collaborate with an international team to find the best ways, tools, and practices that can harness us to not only find the best solutions today but to stay adaptive in the continuously changing situations now and in the future.

In my following posts, I want to dive deeper into specific parts of Employee Experience and share my findings, learnings, and ideas. My goal is to light up discussions in the comments section, bring together professionals and enthusiasts around this topic, and of course to learn more myself!

Did this already spark an idea, opinion, question, or thought in you? Share it and let’s start talking :)

--

--

Leeni Harmainen

Here to discover more about happy workplaces (EX), amazing leadership (rarely found), communication (duh), & how we can all further develop ourselves (learn!).