Lee Siltala
2 min readJan 11, 2020

Lee Siltala driving a Formula Ford at Phoenix International Raceway!

We drive our vehicles every day on freeways and sometimes hit speeds over 80mph. We make our way through packs of drivers and it sometimes feels like we are racing just to get to work or to drop the kids off at school. So when I had the opportunity to drive a Formula Ford at what was then Phoenix International Raceway I thought “how hard could it be”…right? I’m not sure what happened to my brain but as soon as I walked onto the track it felt like it was my first day driving…what’s a steering wheel, which pedal is which, gear pattern, basic stuff I’ve known all my life just disappeared! Just putting on the racing gear seemed like getting dressed for the first time…lol. The debrief with the Bondurant instructors was a blurr, just smiled and nodded my head a lot. The excitement walking up to my Formula Ford was something I’ll never forget. Even though I had gotten into a car, put on a seat belt and started it with no problems every day since I started driving, I remember climbing into the cockpit of the Formula Ford and thinking “what’s next"? Luckily not long after getting in a Bondurant instructor appeared and helped me buckle up, get the steering wheel on and told me to start the car. The next hour was a fantastic blur sights, sounds & sensations all around me as one corner melted into the next and then it was over. Climbing out of the cockpit I felt a sense of accomplishment and joy, adrenaline still coursing through my body. If you ever wished you could drive a race car on a race track…do it! It’s not like driving every day! More stories & pics can be found on my blog at http://leesiltala.com