Leiah Lashley
3 min readOct 1, 2021

--

Photo by Eren Li from Pexels

We’re all having trouble sleeping. We’re anxious about the pandemic, or our jobs, or money. Our worries can keep us up at night and we’re looking for ways to fall asleep faster and more deeply.

Enter educational ASMR. ASMR stands for Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response. It is a pleasurable tingling sensation across the scalp and down the spine in response to specific stimuli. There is a thriving YouTube creator community creating videos to “trigger” people’s ASMR.

Not everyone experiences ASMR. But many viewers like ASMR videos because they are relaxing. Several related genres don’t offer the standard ASMR experience. They help you concentrate, provide background noise or ambiance, or help you fall asleep.

Educational ASMR channels teach you something new. The information gives the chattering part of your brain something to focus on, allowing you to fall asleep. When I have trouble falling asleep, the imagery in my head from the videos doesn’t allow me to stress about it. Plus, I get to learn something.

Here are my favorite educational ASMR channels.

1. The French Whisperer

--

--

Leiah Lashley

I'm a Leiah but not a princess. I came here to write stories and chew bubblegum and I'm all out of gum. I am a light unto the darkness.