Songs for Car Rides, Campouts, and Bedtimes — Group 4: Singing You to Sleep

LeighAnn Oettinger
6 min readJan 19, 2024

--

I am especially grateful that I am able to share this particular group — the songs I sang to my daughter at bedtime. I wanted children from the time I knew I could have them, perhaps eight- or nine-years-old. Multiple miscarriages later brought me to nearly letting that dream go. Then I spent the next pregnancy in bed, 29 weeks until my water broke, and our little chocolate chip was born healthy and strong.

Please enjoy:
Good Ship Lollipop
Amazing Grace
All Night, All Day
This Little Light of Mine
Simple Gifts

Good Ship Lollipop

I remember being five years old living in the mobile home in Lancaster, Ohio and Mom singing Good Ship Lollipop to me before going to bed. I worked and worked to memorize the lyrics. I loved imagining such a confection-filled land, but I especially loved that special time with Mom ❤️. It became one of my daughter’s favorites in her turn. ❤️❤️

On the good ship Lollipop
It’s a sweet trip to the candy shop
Where bon bons play
On the sunny beach of peppermint bay

Lemonade stands everywhere
Cracker Jack bands fill the air
And there you are
Happy landings on a chocolate bar

Said the jelly roll to the sugar bowl
And the big bad Devil’s food cake
If you eat to much then, oh, no
You’ll awake with a tummy ache

On the good ship Lollipop
It’s been a sweet trip into bed you plop
And pleasant dreams
All aboard for candy land!

Amazing Grace

Of course, I learned Amazing Grace at whatever church I went to (Catholic with Dad and with high school friends, Methodist with Mom, and Church of Christ, Church of God, and Jehovah Witness at the vacation Bible schools that I attended for multiple years in the late ‘70’s and often multiple times in the same summer (one year it was five!). When I was in high school or college I made sure to memorize all of the verses, and I often sang it to my daughter at bedtime.

Amazing grace how sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me
I once was lost, but now I’m found
Was blind but now I see

’Twas grace that taught my heart to fear
And grace my fears relieved
How precious did that grace appear
The hour I first believed

Through many dangers, toils, and snares
I have already come
This grace that brought me safe thus far
And grace will lead me home

When we’ve been here ten thousand years
Bright, shining as the sun
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise
Than when we first begun

Amazing grace how sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me
I once was lost, but now I’m found
Was blind but now I see

All Night, All Day

I do not know exactly when and where I learned this one, but I remember not being too old and my dad explaining about angels watching over me when I sleep, and if I were to die, the angels would be there to help my soul go to heaven. Though at my tender age I was a bit disturbed at the idea of dying while I slept, I was also intrigued by this whole notion of angels being around me and souls journeying to heaven. So this is another song that had the additional value of teaching me about death and after death. I considered having a “death songs” category in this song book, but I thought the value of these songs might be lost in those taken aback by the morbid quality of that title.

After three miscarriages, I was very, very happy to be able to frequently sing Angels Watchin’ Over Me to my daughter at bedtime. I learned the second verse from one of her toys.

All night, all day
Angels watching over me my Lord
All night, all day
Angels watching over me

Now I lay me down to sleep
Angels watching over me my Lord
I pray the Lord my soul to keep
Angels watching over me

Angels guard me through the night
Angels watching over me my Lord
Till I wake in the morning light
Angels watching over me

If I die before I wake
Angels watching over me my Lord
I pray the Lord my soul to take
Angels watching over me

All night, all day
Angels watching over me my Lord
All night, all day
Angels watching over me

This Little Light of Mine

I learned this song in children’s church and also sang it in various vacation Bible schools and with family, but it wasn’t until I had my daughter and found these adapted lyrics that I really fell in love with it. To my heart, this version captures the meaning and intention of recognizing the Light within. Another song of peace and love that I shared with my daughter at bedtime. 💕

This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine
I’m gonna let shine
Let it shine
Let it shine
Let it shine

I feel it when I’m happy
I’m gonna let it shine
I feel it when I’m sad
I’m gonna let it shine
I feel it when I’m lonely
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine
Let it shine
Let it shine

It’s with me in the morning
I’m gonna let it shine
And in the afternoon
I’m gonna let it shine
I feel it in the evening
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine
Let it shine
Let it shine

It’s with me every day
I’m gonna let it shine
In school, at home, and when I play
I’m gonna let it shine
No one can take my light away
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine
Let it shine
Let it shine

This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine
I’m gonna let shine
Let it shine
Let it shine
Let it shine

Simple Gifts

I remember my mom singing this hymn when we lived in the mobile home and in the apartment in Lancaster, Ohio. I thought it was so pretty, and I requested and sang it over and over again until I memorized it. It later became one of the regular songs I sang to my daughter before she slept and while we were driving. The lyrics did much to shape the philosophy I live by.

’Tis a gift to be simple, ’tis a gift to be free,
’Tis a gift to come down where we ought to be,
And when we have reached the place that is right,
We will be in the valley of love and delight.

When true simplicity is gained,
To bow and to bend we will not be ashamed,
To turn, to turn will be a delight,
Till by turning, turning we come round right.

--

--