Image by Burst

How I’d Do Unemployment Better

If I ever have to do it again

Lela Perez
4 min readApr 7, 2020

--

When I was unemployed, it threw everything in my life out of balance. I felt as if my foundation had been ripped out from underneath me and the source of much of my contentment in life was sapped out. I had to cope with it by altering my life in many ways, but there are still some things I would have done differently if I had to do it all again.

Give Yourself the Time You Need

First of all, I would have given myself only the necessary grieving period. I was let go on a Thursday and didn’t do anything but lay on the couch the next day, after I went and got my last pay stub. That was a good thing, but come Monday or the Monday after that, I probably should have pulled myself together a little and re-established a routine.

Keep the same schedule that you’re used to.

All the daily and weekly tasks of having a household (in my case apartment), still apply during unemployment. I started to do these chores during the day when I would have been working if I had a job. That was a mistake. Since work and life aren’t normally integrated, don’t suddenly start living at home when you should be living at the office for half of the day. Once I found my new job and started going back to an office every day, all of a sudden my previously pristine home life fell apart because I didn’t have the same amount of time to clean and do chores as I did before. If I’d maintained my previous “work life” chore schedule which I had all but figured out before the job separation, it would have been no trouble to go back to work.

Don’t let yourself lay around in your pajamas.

Keep getting dressed and making it happen for yourself. When you dress for success you are more successful. You mood is different and your mannerisms resemble better how you act in “work mode.” It may seem odd but it is true that all the subtleties of everyday work life suddenly become the things that hold it together when all else is uncertain. You are competent and in control.

Keep going to “work” by creating or going to a Work Space

During my unemployment I found out that the public library is a thing that still exists, and that it is very similar to a regular quiet office environment. A library card can be very easily obtained for free and modern libraries give you access to WiFi, work tables or booths, and the noise level is peaceful compared to the cacophony of a Starbucks. Working or trying to look for jobs at home was really difficult for me at first. I was used to leaving work at work and home was my sanctuary and my place for entertainment and fun. When I placed myself into a more productive environment, I was more focused and accomplished the tasks I needed to without getting distracted. The library was there for me, and it is for you too.

I also rearranged my apartment to create an “office” space by splitting my living room in half, and that helped a lot too. The simple act of walking around behind my couch to be in my work space was enough to put me in a different mental mode. I was also facing a wall away from the rest of my apartment, so that the only thing in front of me was my computer. For you, whether this means designating a corner of the living room or bedroom, or converting half the kitchen table into a desk, do what you must to make yourself a dedicated work space.

Keep Learning and having fun!

If at your last job you would browse articles on related topics, keep doing that. If you’ve always wanted to learn more about Topic X but felt you never had time, do it now that you do have time. Anything you think you’d enjoy or would help you learn something new in your field will help keep you in the race that is making it to retirement having a led a fulfilling career!

This article is part of my Process of Finding a New Job series:

--

--