Open Source Software Licenses

Summary of MIT, Apache, and BSD 3-Clause Licenses

Lematsu
3 min readJul 2, 2017
Apache License

The MIT, Apache, and BSD 3-Clause License allows open software development and collaboration with people around the world. As a contributor, I thought I should visit what I can, cannot, and must do before I can make changes.

MIT License

  • A short, permissive software license. Basically, I can do whatever I want as long as I include the original copyright and license notice in any copy of the software/source.

Can

  • I may use the work commercially.
  • I may make changes to the work.
  • I may distribute the compiled code and/or source.
  • I may incorporate the work into something that has a more restrictive license.
  • I may use the work for private use.

Cannot

  • The work is provided “as is”. I may not hold the author liable.

Must

  • I must include the copyright notice in all copies or substantial uses of the work.
  • I must include the license notice in all copies or substantial uses of the work.

Apache License

  • I can do what I like with the software, as long as I include the required notices. This permissive license contains a patent license from the contributors of the code.

Can

  • Describe the ability to use the software for commercial purposes.
  • Describe the ability to modify the software and create derivatives.
  • Describe the ability to distribute original or modified (derivative) works.
  • Describe the ability for me to grant/extend a license to the software.
  • Describe the ability to use/modify software freely without distributing it.
  • Describe the rights to practice patent claims of contributors to the code.
  • Describe the ability to place warranty on the software licensed.

Cannot

  • Describe the warranty and if the software/license owner can be charged for damages.
  • Describe the allowance of using contributors’ names, trademarks or logos.

Must

  • Describe whether the original copyright must be retained.
  • Including the full text of license in modified software.
  • Stating significant changes made to software.
  • If the library has a “NOTICE” file with attribution notes, I must include that NOTICE when I distribute. I may append to this NOTICE file.
bash$ ls

BSD 3-Clause License

  • The BSD 3-clause license allows you almost unlimited freedom with the software so long as you include the BSD copyright and license notice in it (found in Fulltext).

Can

  • Describe the ability to use the software for commercial purposes.
  • Describe the ability to modify the software and create derivatives.
  • Describe the ability to distribute original or modified (derivative) works.
  • Describe the ability to place warranty on the software licensed.

Cannot

  • You may not use the names of the original company or its members to endorse derived products.
  • Describe the warranty and if the software/license owner can be charged for damages.

Must

  • Describe whether the original copyright must be retained.
  • Including the full text of license in source or object code copies.

Hope this helps you to make contributions to the projects out there!

Source:

I am not affiliated with TLDRLegal, but I found their website to be very useful for this post. Here’s the link to their home page. https://tldrlegal.com/

--

--