10 Films to Watch if You Can’t Stop Listening to Lana Del Rey

Lena Harlow
4 min readJan 11, 2022

Whenever I’ve had a bad day, I put on a Lana Del Rey song and… well, it doesn’t necessarily cheer me up. But it does give my hiding-under-the-bedsheets-in-sweatpants look a certain sultry mystique. Maybe.

But in case you’re like me and you’ve lost your headphones (again), here’s ten films to watch for that same mix of nostalgic glamour, tragedy and star-crossed love that Lana Del Rey sings about oh so well.

10. The Godfather (1972)

If this film were remade today (please don’t, Hollywood), there’s little doubt that Lana’s song “Salvatore” would be featured on its soundtrack.

I feel funny adding a plot description, since The Godfather is arguably the most iconic gangster flick of all time. You know the story. Suffice it to say, Michael Corleone (Al Pacino) and Apollonia’s (Simonetta Stefanelli) fleeting and passionate romance is the stuff of legends… and the perfect embodiment of any Lana Del Rey song.

9. The Misfits (1961)

On the album Born to Die, Lana Del Rey swears in her song “Body Electric” that “Marilyn’s my mother.” Of course, she’s referring to the original blonde bombshell herself — Marilyn Monroe.

It could be argued that several Monroe films capture the unique aesthetic of Lana Del Rey. Personally, I think The Misfits does it best. The story revolves around a recent divorcée who finds herself the object of three

--

--

Lena Harlow

I’m a freelance writer whose interests lie in Old Hollywood, historical romance and all things cinema.