The 3–1–1

Greg Leppert
1 min readJan 13, 2015

--

Yesterday, in the wake of the Paris attacks, David Cameron proposed putting limits on encrypted communications. I know, I know, but before you go taking up arms, it’s important to note that you’ll still be able to use encryption for your bits when they travel the globe, you’ll simply need to remember the 3–1–1 rule. Easy enough, right? Here’s the relevant passage:

3–1–1 for encryption. RSA, DSA, and ECDSA must be 3.4 ounces (100bits) or less per container; must be in 1 quart-sized, clear, plastic, zip-top bag; 1 bag per message placed in screening bin. The bag limits the total data volume each traveling message can bring.

I, for one, feel this is a perfectly reasonable request and will be happy to comply. If anyone needs a spare ziplock bag, I have a bundle of them I’ll be handing out along with my public key.

--

--

Greg Leppert

Director @ Harvard working on AI and access to knowledge