How I Learned Japanese Quickly: A DIY Linguist’s Guide to Mastering Any Language

How I Learned Japanese Quickly: A DIY Linguist’s Guide to Mastering Any Language

Les
5 min readMar 8, 2024
Photo by Artturi Jalli on Unsplash

It’s not as hard as it looks

Let’s get this clear, yes, I’m a linguist, no I’m not a pro. And I know as a linguist I also have a lot of advantages. But that’s what I want to share with you so you can save time and stress. This is about efficient language acquisition, my friends.

My Japanese language journey started in middle school because I loved Sailor Moon way too much. I started with hiragana because I liked to draw and thought the curly shapes were cute. Don’t hate on me, I was 12. I went on from there to buy some travel books about Japan (you can read my story of how a travel book inspired 12-year-old me to become an expat here). I went on to study Japanese in high school only to be advanced enough to do independent study during class. I had free access to the teachers’ books and found my way to a book by a linguist who opened my eyes to the world I inhabit now.

But I like to think of myself as a DIY linguist. I gave up on the prospects of fieldwork. I mean, it’s cool and all, but I wanted to work with real people rather than data, and found myself wanting to encourage language learners after seeing how the education system was chewing them up and spitting them out.

So, if you’re a language flunky, sit back and relax. It’s not as hard as you think. I’ll share with you my top tips on learning a language quickly. You might not pass any tests with this method, but I promise you can get to know local people and make memories you might not have otherwise.

First and Most Important: Overcoming Language Learning Misconceptions

First, and most important is overcoming common misconceptions about language learning. That it’s hard, that it’s only for special people who can master it, that it takes a long time, blah blah blah. Learning a new language doesn’t have to be hard. I mean, you already speak one language I’m assuming. And someone, at some time, taught you to read this. One of the biggest hurdles to language acquisition is mindset (I’ll talk more in-depth about that later). Just know that if you keep an open mind, you’ll be alright.

The DIY Linguist Approach:

My approach has literally 2 important aspects to set the foundation for you:

  1. Self-Directed: you should be wanting to learn this new language for some reason. That’s up to you to decide, but either way, start with what’s easy and what works for you (it helps if you know your learning style). Are you good at writing? Playing with new words? Grammar? And then, set realistic goals. Your job is not to be Superman, it’s to have fun and learn this language for whatever reason. Also, make sure you set yourself up for success. Create an environment that is conducive for you to learn.
  2. Include your hobbies: do you like music, TV, cycling, sports, or art? Then do that in the new language! This can include things that are culturally interesting for you.

Now, we can get into the nitty-gritty.

Utilizing linguistic principles for efficient language acquisition

Here are 4 ways that we know as linguists work:

  1. Talk to people: our brains learn quickly by interacting in real-time. It’s hard at first, but it’s the fastest way (think back to when you were little–you couldn’t read anything yet right?)
  2. Listen (another fast way to get your ears used to new sounds and to help your brain form connections so you’ll be able to make sounds
  3. Use as many frequently used words as possible: these are for things like daily life, feelings, what you want to say, and what you need — the bare basic living essentials.
  4. Memorization (if you insist): if you’re really trying to memorize something, move your body — take a walk while you do it and it’s easier to remember.

*Important tip: (SKIP: GAMES & TOO MUCH WRITING — those train other parts of your brain)

What if you don’t have other people to talk to or practice with? I didn’t either, so that means it’s time for SELF IMMERSION

  • Talk to yourself (imagine conversations)
  • Listen to podcasts & youtube / TV shows / Movies
  • Get on language learning apps (engage with native speakers if possible)

Resilience and the Growth Mindset in Language Learning

It’s all about mindset — how we maintain a growth mindset and flexibility. We all get worried about mistakes and sounding like weirdos. I mean, I was asking for a “pee” set instead of a “pickle” set here in Japan for about 6 months before anyone corrected me. Mistakes are not just normal, they’re how we learn. You know how babies try to put puzzles together? think of it like that. And don’t be afraid to ask. People will eventually correct you on the embarrassing things and you can make a new friend by bonding over laughing at yourself.

Dealing with plateaus: Know it comes in steps and you will get burnt out

The bottom line here is that you can quit whenever you want. You can lose enthusiasm. It’s normal. I did. I got pissed off and said, “No more Japanese!” to my husband because it felt like my brain was so hot I couldn’t think anymore. Then, after a few days, I noticed I was thinking in Japanese.

Part of this process is about learning resilience and perseverance as you acquire your new language. But it’s also important to remember: you don’t have to do this! You can reassess your goal at any point in this journey. No one (hopefully) is making you learn a language but yourself.

Also, remember to give yourself rewards along the way or just stop and do something else fun or rewarding if you feel like your brain is getting too hot.

Conclusion

So there you have it. My four DIY linguist principles with some sprinklings of advice and anecdotes from my experience. I hope you are feeling encouraged and ready to take on that new language you’ve been thinking about. You can get started anytime, and you can quit anytime, so honestly, it’s not such a big deal. Just focus on your goals, be kind to yourself, and go exploring. Remember, learning any language is not as hard as it looks.

If you’re looking for more stories about life in Japan, check out my Medium here, or you can go to my Instagram for more daily life updates!

P.S. Here are some BONUS FREE LINKS you can use if you want to get into Japanese: NHK, Tofugu. Good luck!

--

--

Les

International Love and Expat Adventures in Tokyo's forgotten neighborhoods