Inspired by Adventure: How a Travel Book I Read in Middle School Inspired Me to Move to Japan

(My Moving to Japan Memoir, and why it took me so long)

Les
5 min readMar 21, 2024
Photo by JJ Ying on Unsplash

My parents had a family rule: every time we went to a bookstore, we were allowed to buy a book (or two, depending on the price). One day, while wandering through the travel section I stumbled upon a small book about Japan. If you would have asked me then, I would have told you there was no way I was moving to Japan. Fast forward to now — I now live in Tokyo and am married to a Japanese local (we also roast coffee. and have a pop-up coffee stand in a local bicycle shop).

Let me tell you how I got here.

Falling in love from afar: The Journey Begins:

When I found that travel book, I got curious about who wrote it, and flipped to the back page to find a picture of the author and “expat,” next to his name. I’d never heard of that word before and asked my parents what it meant. “Someone who lives overseas,” they said, and I thought, “You can do that?!” Thus began my adventure to live in Japan.

How It Started

I originally became interested in Japan because my favorite childhood TV show, Sailor Moon, had been canceled. It had lesbian characters which was just a little too much for 90’s American television. I started researching and learned that it was actually from Japan, and wasn’t originally in English! So, I got curious and bought that travel book, and then a Japanese phrasebook, and fell in love with Japan.

Initially, I got butterflies in my stomach just thinking about living in Japan, but my working-class family didn’t travel, and at that time, a passport cost a whopping $90 which was unfathomable — add in the plane ticket price of around $2,000 and it was a no-deal.

My mother, bless her heart, did her best to get me as close to Japan as possible, meaning we drove long distances to import shops, Japanese supermarkets, and even the big city for festivals. I got a Japanese pen pal and took my letters to the post office, filling out customs forms, etc. Initially, I wrote in kanji, but the local countryside post office couldn’t read it and asked me to rewrite it.

Trials and Tribulations

I ended up getting married and divorcing young, meeting an actor, moving to New York, and then fighting things out there for about 3 years. I was tired of my hometown Seattle and needed a challenge. I briefly thought about Japan but decided, no, that dream was gone.

Things went south with the actor, and after I moved back home to the countryside, I was forced to face myself alone for the first time in a long time. You know what this meant: considering Japan again.

When I thought about my potential personal journey abroad, it came with all sorts of negative thoughts, like, “I’m too old,” or “That’s crazy!” But when I spoke with my friends, they were all supportive, saying “Why not?” So, I couldn’t escape by blaming them. After some sleepless nights and gut checks, that was it. I was moving to Japan.

Photo by Roméo A. on Unsplash

Rocket Launch

I decided to solo travel around Japan for 3 weeks and test the waters and see if I did, in fact, want to live in Japan. After I touched down and got off the plane at Narita, I knew: this was home. I’d had enough years of experience for the fantastic dreaminess of looking at Japan from afar, to wear off.

Sure, I traveled around, but I’d already made my decision, and as soon as I got home, got to work looking for a job. I’d already booked my flights, and, after three months of processing, I finally got my visa. But, I changed my flights and arrived early to set up my apartment before starting my new position. The day after I flew out, Canada and the US closed their borders due to a mysterious disease spreading. But, I made it. I arrived.

How It’s Going

It’s been four years, and I’m married to a local guy. Our daily life here in Japan is pretty chill, and we roast coffee and run a pop-up coffee stand in a bicycle shop. Looking at my expat life in Tokyo now, my life in the US feels like a million years ago.

I’ve worked all sorts of odd jobs here, and still teach English on the side here and there, but I made it. I’m finally an expat.

The term hasn’t necessarily aged well with all the politics around emigration, immigration, and privilege, so I hesitate to use it too much. I found that over here, in Japan, expat is more accepted, but I don’t use it as much when I’m back in The States.

And this doesn’t mean it’s all easy and full of rainbows. Anywhere you live, life catches up with you, and living abroad comes with cultural differences, language barriers, and general frustrations. But, in the end, I’m just happy that little-me can look at big-me now and see she’s living the dream.

Tips for Aspiring Expats

Embrace adventure! It’s ok to test the water and take risks — you can always go back home. When you follow your inspiration and embrace new experiences, you can only find great new roads to travel. And you can get sick of things, and that’s ok too! There’s no limit to your adventure if you trust yourself.

If you’re looking for more adventure travel inspiration or want to know more about life in Japan, you can follow me here. And if you’ve ever stepped out on your own adventure, or have questions for me, leave a comment! I’d love to connect!

--

--

Les

International Love and Expat Adventures in Tokyo's forgotten neighborhoods