Should Influencers Share Their Beliefs?

Leslie Nance
4 min readFeb 1, 2017

--

It’s Monday and the world is in a uproar over the new administration in America. I am seeing messages of adoration and hate flying around all of my social media like paper bags in the wind (and about as care free as that analogy too!) I could feel the fear beginning to rise inside me.

Interestingly enough I had just had a very exciting conversation about the divinity vs. great marketing of Jesus. How after 2000 years he is still making a splash no matter what you believe about him. I’ll say that I am a believer. I believe in God and I believe in the divinity in Jesus. I also believe in the right to choose your own spirituality. I do not attend church. I do not believe in God because I am afraid of hell. Although my 11th grade Bible teacher really tried to convince me that was a good reason! I believe in God because I can feel his presence in my life. That is all you or I needs to know!

I am considered by some to be a up and coming influencers. I teach people how to live an anti-cancer lifestyle with a health insurance policy they can eat. Some look to me for inspiration, guidance, motivation and friendship. I get that I am one to many. I understand my responsibility very well and above all I take that responsibility very seriously!

I am also considered a spiritual storyteller. I have a #alwayslightneverdarkness that I use in my personal Facebook page (which is public and anyone can follow). I have people that are following just that # to find my story for the day. Mostly I am talking to myself in these post and I make that personal conversation public to possibly spread light to others. I won’t lie some have had a political slant to them. it’s hard to avoid. These are questions that come up in my meditations that I can’t ignore and I feel need to be shared. They are never shared flippantly. They are done with great amounts of reflection.

Now the back story is set here is what happen. I posted this on Monday, January 30, 2017.

“Dear God, please help me respect the way others understand you. Deepen my call to draw closer to you in everything I do. Not be petty, hateful, angry and belligerent in my dealings with others. Help me to be brave, set good examples and always show love and compassion to my fellow human beings no matter where their hearts lead them. Help me to be part of the solution and never part of the controversy. Guide me in my quest to be more human than ever and recognize that in every human eye that meets mine. Let compassion flow like rivers so deep they can not be stopped or dammed. I will always seek to be light into darkness and never darkness into light. I will not let the bonds of religion cloud my view of you. I will look beyond and feel your presence within me. Thank you for every breath of single day, as I know it is a gift that should never be wasted in anger, pettiness, and dissolutions. #alwayslightneverdakrness Will you SHARE and join me in this prayer?”

This post was derived from the conversation about Jesus and his divinity vs. great marketing conversation. It was not about politics. BUT it just so happens on this particular Monday when I post this we as a nation were still in a strong debate about the immigration ban that had taken place over the weekend.

I got text, emails, DM’s and even a phone call! All of them “advising” me as an influencer to reconsider my political slant on my post. One even said, “we need more sauerkraut and cooking and less politics!” One said, “no one cares about world peace anymore you should give it up!” Wait? What? I won’t lie I was pissed. My message of love, compassion and tolerance has now shifted into; you should just entertain us and cook? Don’t worry your pretty little head about it? Just give up no one is listening anyway?

These messages came from people I love and trust. They all went on to say I was going to lose followers and offend people if I did not stop with the political slant. I still love these people and can recognize they were only trying to help. It did help. It illuminated something in me that I did not recognize the full importance of.

I love this human race and I will stand up for it until my last breath. I strive to see the human in every eye that meets mine. To share light with every step I take, every post I type, and every livesstream I do. So to those who are looking after me thank you for your concern your comments were of great value to me!

In the comments, I would love to hear from you. Are you an influencer that feels like you can’t share your feelings about tough subjects? Do you fear losing people over your opinions? Do you keep it all private and if so why? I am never offended when I don’t agree with someone, are you? I want to know…LET’S TALK!

Leslie Nance

Founder go2kitchens.com

#alwayslightneverdarkness

--

--

Leslie Nance

Founder go2kitchens.com, host of Shorty Award Nominated show “Lunch with Leslie”, Livestreaming Personality and Surfer. www.go2kitchens.com