Hearts and Stars: A Love Poem and Observations

LeTara M.
3 min readJun 3, 2018

Originally published at Life in a Few Words: A Collection of Poetry and Short Stories

I have a million interests, but my pen will always have a place in my heart. My typical day consists of an early morning workout, prepping for work, mommy duties, leaving for work, fitting in Spanish and computer language microlessons into the day, attempting to achieve my daily water and my step goals, driving from one location to the next, occasionally going to an evening workout, maybe sneaking in a few pages of books I should have read and reviewed months ago, thinking about what my next creative project will be, and going home to handle more mommy duties. Physically and financially, I’m the best I’ve been in years and am improving every day. When it comes to matters of the heart, however, that could still use some work.

I think my biggest issue as far as controlling how I allow the actions of others to impact me is that I don’t always listen to my intuition. The little voice in the back of my head isn’t a little one at all. In fact, it is very loud at times. I can think of several occasions when I would have been spared many headaches, stomachaches and sleepless nights if I had listened to that voice telling me the best thing to do. I never listen to avoid though. I’ve become better at recovering. It doesn’t take me as long as it used to take to pick up the pieces and move on. Things happen and I remember that I’ve always been a little different from the norm. Always been the eccentric, sometimes reclusive artist. I…

--

--

LeTara M.

Mother. Poet. Lover of love, books and coffee. I write about books, tarot cards, and everything else. Meet me at my blog https://letarawrites.wordpress.com