White Men Can’t Jump (2023)

Letherbinge ☻ – FILM & TV
2 min readJun 21, 2023

--

TEA 🫖

Genre: comedy, drama

Rating: R

Year: 2023

Time: one hour and forty one minutes

Worth the watch? Yes

Trivia: A remake of the 1992 film about a pair of basketball hustlers who team up to earn extra cash.

I had zero plans of watching the new remake of the 1990’s classic movie, White Men Can’t Jump. The original film, directed by Spike Lee, is a classic in my house, and Wesley Snipes & Woody Harrelson had an on-screen chemistry that was unmatched! But sometimes, when I’m lounging around the house on a Saturday or Sunday, with the family all cozy at home, I’ll put on a movie that I hadn’t planned to watch, and I’ll listen to it in the background while work- it is almost always a sequel, or a remake of some kind.

In this film, we meet Kamal and Jeremy, respectively played by Sinqua Walls, and Jack Harlow. Kamal and Jeremey meet, and develop an interesting and familiar friendship, and bond while playing basketball. I would describe this movie as a more modern, family-friendly, updated version of White Men Can’t Jump in 1992; a lot more funnies, and jokes, and a lot less sex. I know we watched it, but- I wouldn’t categorize the White Men Can’t Jump, Spike Lee Original to be for the kids. Sorry Mom and Dad. Lmao

Cast wardrobe and fashions in this film notably come to represent, homage is paid to the 1992 original, and we have several new faces to the movie scene that we haven’t seen. Characters, Renzo and Speedy brought the funny for me. 😂 Overall, I thought the movie was funny, and the soundtrack is a vibe.

Have you seen the 1992 original and the new 2023 White Men Can’t Jump?

Originally published at https://letherbinge.com on June 21, 2023.

--

--

Letherbinge ☻ – FILM & TV

My name is Jessica and i'm a writer, homebody, lover of tv, and film. You can follow me on Instagram @yogabarbee and YouTube @wildwithgrace + @letherbingetv