10 Things That Make You Smile

Leticia Wilson
4 min readApr 18, 2020

--

Photo by nappy from Pexels

By now you should know that I’m a “Lady of the lists.” I feel like when you write things down it allows you to remember, keeps you accountable, and gives you a chance to celebrate your small and BIG victories! Sometimes in this fast-paced world, it’s easy to get consumed with the things that make you upset or worries about the world.

Why not change it UP, record things that make you smile. Here are some tips I have used in my everyday life:

  1. Complement Folder in Work E-mail

Whenever you receive a compliment from a colleague, supervisor or client, drag that “feel good” message into a folder entitled “complements.” This can serve as a beneficial need, on those unfavorable workdays.

2. Voicemail Messages

Recently I had a colleague, give me a call to thank me for making her a “coffee care package”, when we attended a work trip. Her intentions were not to have a conversation about work or personal life, but simply give me feedback on how the gesture made her feel. SAVE those voicemails, its good to fill up your bucket with positive vibes.

Image by Travis Zimmerman from Pixabay

3. DEFINE YOUR HAPPY PLACE

For me, my happy place varies on what I need at that particular time. For example:

4. DANCE

“Azucar” hearing the resounding beat of Celia Cruz, makes me want to show off my sensational salsa moves and allow my body to follow the beat. Typically I need to dance to remove nervous energy before a big engagement or get motivated to do something “out of the box”.

Photo by Vinicius Vilela from Pexels

5. FISHING

A melanin queen AKA “MQ” dressed up in jean overalls, a bandanna over locs and carrying a fishing bucket. All for the excitement of throwing in bait tackled fishing line in the water. Sometimes the event turns into “fishing” and not necessarily “catching.” Yes, that is one of my happy places, when I need nature/peace/action combined.

Photo by Brent Keane from Pexels

6. Word of God

Spending quality time with God, at the beginning of my day. Before the sun rises above the clouds and the birds begin to sing their melodious tunes. I have one-on-one time studying scripture through the Holy Bible App. This has truly been a God Send, in this app you can choose your biblical plans to follow, based on your interest in the topic. Some topics include:

  • New to faith
  • Work
  • Leadership
  • Forgiveness
  • Addiction
  • Feelings
  • Prayer and so much more….

Sharing this intentional time with God, makes me feel equipped to start my day!

Photo by Wendy van Zyl from Pexels

7. Broadway Musical

Five hundred twenty five thousand six hundred minutes. Hearing the lyrics from one of my favorite musical RENT. Or better yet, watching Diana Ross and Michael Jackson, ease on down the road, INSTANTLY puts a smile on my face and a kick in my step.

Photo by Leon Macapagal from Pexels

8. Pausing on Purpose

Sitting in a rocking chair, watching the sunrise. Enjoying a movie in my living room solo, or taking a stroll on a neighborhood path. Being alone should not be equated to feeling lonely. Sometimes from my perspective, there is joy in being uniquely detached for a small period of time. This time can function as re-charge and internal reflection, “Pausing on Purpose”.

Photo by Retha Ferguson from Pexels

9. Food

Allowing all five senses to dance, seeing the colorful ingredients, smelling the intoxicating aromas, hearing the culinary process take place, touching the delicate morsels enter my mouth with the taste that allows each note to excite my flavor profile pallet. Oh, how I enjoy GOOD FOOD, from various cuisines.

Photo by Rajesh TP from Pexels

10. Identify your love language

For me, I can tell you my primary love language is quality time. If you are curious about discovering yours, feel free to stop by author Gary Chapman’s 5 Love Languages and take the quiz.

https://mindfulsurvivor.files.wordpress.com/2016/05/5-love-languages.jpg

https://www.5lovelanguages.com/

Personally, I thrive on spending uninterrupted time with family and friends, reminiscing, laughing and talking about the now!

Feel your space with things that bring you JOY!

--

--

Leticia Wilson

Devoted and compassionate higher education professional that aspires to “watch your light shine”. Committed to living a life of feeding the mind, body and soul!