UI that stops people from churning?

When designers try to stop churn with screens

Robert Williams
2 min readOct 4, 2017

Last month I reviewed my expenses and decided to cancel a few subscriptions.

Each one had a different experience.

Some tried to keep me around with special offers.

Others hid their cancel button in weird places.

But one app in particular highlighted a fact about churn that I found interesting.

The 3 Stages of Cancellation Grief by Skillshare

Skillshare cut the cancellation process into 3 separate screens.

This probably keeps a tiny fraction of a percentage of users around longer.

However, I bet most cancellers are unaffected.

(It’s amazing how great I am at finding a cancellation button no matter where a UI designer decides to hide it.)

In fact, it’s almost as if my decision to cancel isn’t affected at all by the location of the cancellation button or how many screens I’m made to go through.

My decision to cancel happens outside the app all together, usually. Like when I’m reviewing my finances or getting my taxes in order.

Yet, most designers focus gains they can get from screens inside their app.

Changes centered around these gains miss the point.

There’s often nothing you can say or do on a cancellation page to keep me around.

So maybe that’s not the best place to try?

--

--