strong arm competition

Level Yoga Therapy (nance)
2 min readJul 25, 2022

--

how loud is your presence?

Sometimes it seems like there are people on this planet who live in a constant state of “challenge accepted” in the words of Barney (How I met your mother) (TV show, if you’re not familiar, not important). It seems like everything is about shouting to be heard: bigger, faster, strongest, fast-lane kind of adrenalyne.

But what if I told you that the quiet people are the kick-ass, courageous ones? Peacefully allowing others to shout if they so desire and feeling no need to interrupt them. The loudest voices may belong to those who struggle the most to feel seen. So, no judging here: just observing. When you see this quality in someone, maybe you can help them by simply asking: what is it you really want to tell me?

I know from the inside out cos I have been there. Didn’t feel like anyone was listening or would understand. Now I have finally found my way back to my path (I knew when I was 4, but tell you about that some other time) ;-) and even now, regularly don’t feel understood, but feel less the tendency to care. Or to change what I have said, to adapt to others because: the strongest reactions are usually a response to something hitting its target.

I don’t discount what I see, but I also don’t push it onto someone who is not ready to hear it yet. The difficult thing is seeing so much, feeling so much, having so many questions and having to filter them. Because I want to know if what I see makes sense to the receiver of said questions…

But, getting back to my point: when we refrain from the coulda shoulda woulda treatment of ourselves (why oh why do we do that? we would *never* do that to a good friend) and try to calmly accept what is, we learn what actual strength (and restraint) is. And if all of this could try to lean more towards our own inner wisdom, what a wonderful place the world would become. I know, I sound like an idealist, but it is my dream that people will one day no longer be distracted by the artificial illusions which only serve to prevent us from getting close to one another.

Hope this little reminder helped.

And, by the way, if you feeling not-so-calm, that’s ok too. Please feel free to tell me all about it.

--

--

Level Yoga Therapy (nance)

For soul searchers & balance seekers. I help you become (more) aware, conscious & relaxed. Never judging. #uplevelyourlife