Lewis J Doyle
8 min readDec 5, 2023

--

My 30-day Alcohol (free) Experiment

Original bar image: Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

Some time in early 2022, I listened to a Blink (shortened-conceptualised audio book) on Blinkist (an app well worth checking out if you enjoy enhancing your life through non-fiction reading — link below) called The Alcohol Experiment.

I can’t remember what lead me to it. It would either have been a recommendation by Blinkist, or it would have been the result of another boozy evening that resulted in a morning of alcohol-thought-related-questions. Either way, I listened to it.

The Alcohol Experiment, in Blinkist.<br/>Image: author
The Alcohol Experiment, in Blinkist.
Image: author

I didn’t make any changes at the time, but the book did leave an impression on me, and that impression simply asked questions about my drinking.

Firstly, I was not a regular drinker. In fact, in my professional peer group, I’d consider myself someone who makes an effort not to drink as much as others. I’d not drink much, if any, during the week, and only have a few with friends over the weekend.

My 30 Day Experiment

At the beginning of each year I set myself goals. Two types of goals in fact: Character Goals, and Achievement Goals. The former are areas for me to focus on developing myself as a person, the latter are physical goals that can be…

--

--

Lewis J Doyle

I'm a chap that loves tech and productivity so tend to write about those things. You can also find me at throughmyeyes.online and @lewisjdoyle