El Mulato

Alexander Lewis
4 min readFeb 10, 2020

--

Three glass cups of coffee. From L to R: pure black, cafe con leche, white. The two with cream have stirring spoons inside.
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I’m mulato

Morenito

Mixture of features from

White mother & black father

Skin brown as cacao

Many strangers said

I had it made

With my soft curly hair

Black women especially

would coo to me

Didn’t pick a side

Parents didn’t force me

Ethnically ambiguous looks provoke

“Wait, what are you?”

“Are you related?”

Regardless of time & place

People play guessing game

“Where are you from?”

Can’t possibly be a native

They think

Name & voice say one thing

Appearance another

Didn’t identify strongly with

Being black

Never considered

Black enough

Classmates called me Oreo

Being mixed seemed bad

White people highlighted

I’m not one of them either

Auto-segregation in halls & cafeterias & classrooms & playgrounds

Missing definitions

Crunched you into other people’s

Fantasies and nightmares

What creeps under my piel morena?

Generational skeletons in collective closet

People past & present

Places I’ve seen, unseen, and never will see

Books I’ve read, skimmed, collecting mental dust

Foods I accept & reject

Perspectives & attitudes

Sometimes complimentary

Sometimes censuring

Bring a sense of home

And trigger me simultaneously

Need a safe place

To heal

Is this it?

Why do people have selective memory loss?

Most disturbing truths are those you knew

From get-go,

But then forgot

Insults from non-white people

Hit same nerves

With extra seasoning

My color abused by an armada

Expectation: racist white people

All PoC are in same boat

In eyes of whites

To be racist & classist against oneself

Wearing, consuming cultural appropriation

There are people

With skin like me

Lighter & darker

With “real black hair,”

Who claim

Their aha race moment happened

In college out-of-state

While they studied abroad in Europe

Not in Pre-K hearing a kid say

“That can’t be your mom,

You don’t look alike!”

Called mestizo growing up

Closer to white

#TeamLightSkin

Not

Indio/India

Mulato/Mulata

Negro/Negra

Colorism is real

Don’t search for truth

When it’s so obvious

Been labeled

Sensitive, quiet, shy

Less aggressive, less athletic

Than guys

Lighter & darker

Charged with being stuck in my head, phone, laptop

Hear this on repeat

Gotta be true

Right?

Few fragments splintered off me

People assume

We’re bougie because

We live in a house

Never used laundromat

Always had school supplies

Wear brand names

Drop unnecessary knowledge & SAT words

What they don’t know

Never had a real family vacation

Barely go to restaurants

Always use public transportation

Never had nanny or tutor

Don’t buy nothin unless it’s on sale

Got phones way after everyone else

Parents didn’t fulfill caprichos

No se pudo, so no se hizo

Real richies know

Can’t talk about

Many lavish adventures abroad

Favorite nightclubs here

Broadway musicals, plays

Elite, private institutions

High-end drugs

Condescendingly ask

“What’s your connection to so-in-so?”

“How did you hear about this?”

AKA

What the hell are you doing here?

You obviously don’t belong

Some richer & darker than us

Experienced less racism

Class coerced Tolerance

Piranhas & betta fish

Feigning friendship with

Guppies & goldfish

Invited kid

Supposed friend

Home

Evident discomfort

In living

Played video games

Old Xbox: springboard

Why didn’t I

have the new one?

have an extra controller?

set this up in my room?

have a TV up there?

have more games?

have the latest ones?

How did I know so much with nothing to show for it?

First & last time

I invited him

Or anyone

over

Never made big deal about race/ethnicity

Was I denying brown on & in me?

By not calling people out

Am I perpetuating cycle?

Am I to blame?

Are we afraid of everyone?

When you throw

hatred, anger & vengeance of oppressor’s victims

In his face

He accuses you of “reverse racism.”

Real rich from inventors of racism

By deeming people ghetto & basic

Am I oppressing?

Ppl exteriorize self-hatred

Hair

Lunchbox

Targets

Ironic when people say

“I don’t see color!”

“Aren’t we all just humans in the end?”

Racism exists everywhere & in everyone

Believing otherwise is

A fictitious good

A platitude

Responsibility to roots

White & black

Spanish-speaking & English?

Don’t speak much Spanish

Cuz I choose not to

I’m a man with ancestry in both worlds

Somedays split is gap

Between train & platform edge

Other days it’s oceans deep

Nothing gets done

Without personal pain

Internalized oppression?

Abuela told mother

We should mejorar la raza

Don’t believe that

In my house

Parents always say

They’re no one to dictate

Who we should, shouldn’t be with

But some do

Recognize privilege

When you’re on short & long end of stick

It’s easier for me to

Run towards wants

Make room for new ambitions

Ask for needs

Receive satisfaction

Mental, physical, emotional, spiritual

Aspire toward

Consequential

Restorative

Reparative

Justice

Don’t compare tragedies

No one’s experience is more, less valid

Nobody can tell you what to feel

Contradiction is

Material for making of self

Practice solidarity

Until it becomes second nature

--

--