Debugging Your .Net Core 3 App on Your Raspberry Pi with Visual Studio 2019

Lew C
6 min readOct 20, 2019

“Boy” you think, “That is an incredibly wordy title”. You’d be right, as whenever I googled this exact topic everyone was doing this through Visual Studio Code. Don’t get me wrong, I love VS Code, but I find it a lot easier to debug C#/.NET Core apps through Visual Studio 2019.

I’m assuming you’ve already got the .NET Core 3 SDK installed. If not, well, you should go and do that now.

All set? Here’s how to debug your code on your Raspberry Pi.

Setting up your Pi

So, first things first, you should enable SSH on your Raspberry Pi. You can do this by opening the terminal on your Raspbian install and running “sudo rasp-config” and pressing enter

You will see a screen like below.

Go down to “Interfacing Options” and press enter

Choose SSH from this menu, and press Enter.

--

--