3 Great Lessons From The Worst Job I’ve Ever Had

Lex R. Brown II
2 min readFeb 24, 2020

The worst job I’ve ever had actually turned out to be great because it taught me some valuable lessons. I love to learn, although I prefer it not be the hard way. One of my missions in life is to empower career changers and military veterans with useful knowledge and information about careering. You don’t have to learn the hard way (if you haven’t already). Here are 3 great lessons from the worst job I’ve ever had:

  1. A Higher Salary does not mean an employer grants you greater responsibility or more trust. Instead, it can mean that an employer will demand more of your time and energy, outside of the norm, because they feel entitled. I learned this lesson especially during my Paternity Leave when I was anxiously awaiting the birth of my second child. My work phone was called literally every day for non-emergencies, and I was penalized for not answering every beckoning call. I’ll stop there with my venting, and get to the point: consider every aspect before accepting a job offer (i.e. work space, organizational culture, paid time off, education benefits, freebies and discounts, etc.).
  2. If you’re promised things during the interview process, such as being able to work from home whenever it’s not essential to be at the corporate office, then be sure to GET IT IN WRITING before you sign and accept the job offer. Sometimes, very rarely, employers will use a “bait and switch” approach to getting you on board. Whether intentional or not, this scenario points to a serious lack of integrity. When you’re hired…

--

--

Lex R. Brown II

Dad. Writer. Native ATLien. Tampa Bay Resident. USAF/Military Veteran. Tune-in to “Resecure The Bag” podcast every Tuesday: https://anchor.fm/resecurethebag.