Abiola Ogunleye
6 min readJan 9, 2024

NYSC Camp: The LAB Experience (3)

Thank you for reading this far. As you may already tell, this is the third piece after the first and second. Note that you would appreciate this more if you’re interested in considering ways to continue spiritual growth while in camp. Shouldn’t we all?

The Spirituals

Dealing with them, however, helped me with something. It started to help me set the spiritual tone I wanted to maintain in camp. Everyone came with their various atmospheres and I entered camp joyful joyful grateful, a believer who has God’s spirit residing in Him.

I wouldn’t resort to quarrelling or verbal abuse (even if deserved, lol), and neither would I treat another person badly because the previous one treated me shabbily. For the record, on the first day, I was dressed in my Ankara till evening, so most must have mistaken me for an interning NYSC official if something like that existed.

Or what else gave that impression?

One other thing this helped me do quite early was to remind myself of God’s wisdom in dealing with situations. I’m grateful to God for the responses given in those situations. Follow platoon members commented about this later on and unknown to me, they observed during the kit-sharing point. How does one maintain that atmosphere amid all the jamboree? Alaye, wa a gbadura o. Prayer walks are your best friend, to be honest.

I made enquiries about fellowship (NCCF) on camp but I was told they wouldn’t be around till Sunday. So, I had to take matters into my hand at first and I kinda stuck to it for the most of camp.

So camp life is quite regimented and almost dictatorial. There is something you’re supposed to be doing per time. For example, the lights go out between 10 and 10:30 pm and the bugle goes off for the morning assembly by 4:30 am by which you’re expected to be outside. Didn’t differ too much from my routine though. Anyhow sha, let me give you OT as a brother in Christ.

What are we brethren for? 😊

What I used to do was wake up by 3 am, the latest. I would have my bath and wash my shoes in that hour and be out by 4 am. You can have a good 30–40 minutes of prayers daily if you do this. Not many folks are out of their hostels then, so you can just find your corner daily.

Sometimes, I substituted the prayers for actual prolonged Scripture reading in the same mornings. I often did it outside still and with my phone (even though I had my hard copy bible). This is because I always felt sleepy almost all the time, especially in those mornings. If there’s something called being ‘a morning person’, I don’t think it’s me. But it takes great effort to fall asleep while pacing to and fro, so that’s what the reading while standing did for me. Me, I am not like your regular Christian influencers o. I don’t take pictures when I’m praying or reading. Apluhgies.

“Yu don’t get? Eez the way of the new generation.”

Now, were there days when I didn’t meet up with this 4 am schedule? Yes. However, that’s what prayer walks are for. Just a stroll during breaks around camp, through the hostels, around Mammy market twice, back to the kitchen and back to the tents. Keep your ears plugged and deliberately avoid where folks who know you will be. It is better than no fellowship at all.

I am super grateful for all the awesome brethren that I had in camp too. They served as a reminder to me of who I am, a believer. Bro Mayokun, my General Secretary from school would come with hugs, and ask if I had time to pray. Glory! from LVCU, (we’d only become close here in camp, we just used to say hello back in the UJCF) also was a great influence as she was at some point drafted into the platoon duties. Edifying conversations that could serve as Bible study (we did open Scriptures at some point, not that we were doing bible study). We planned to pray together and also motivated each other for outreaches.

Modupe too, my very good sister from year 1. My friend with the beautiful feet was constantly reaching out and having experiences. It helps to have folks who remind you that you have the gifts of the spirit and just ask for a word of knowledge on the spot. I also met other platoon members whose spiritual life taught me. Itunu’s carriage was like one who had Jesus as a best friend. Mary Bamidele’s modesty and elegant simplicity, David’s sudden prayer times (he would legit take a break to go pray and come back with a solution), and Mary and Iyanu’s brethren lifestyle. Thank you, guys, for being reminders. I may not have said it, but I’m grateful for those moments.

Eshey o...🥹

Of course, I later joined the NCCF when the fellowship started on Sunday. I was a part of the Bible Study unit, and although meetings were held daily from 7–8, I was not consistent for the first two weeks. This was mostly because of the kind of routine I’d already built and my engagement in the platoon. Pelumi Fadairo was able to do it, though, she served as the platoon treasurer and was also the ushering coordinator in NCCF.

Take my advice, settle first things first. It makes the journey easier. While I was able to still pray, study and reach out, I’m sure I would have been able to do more if I attended every day. Sundays were my favourite days in camp because of the service and every meeting was a time to charge up. The time it took me to start reaching out, the fellowship already had a structure for that. God sets the solitary in families. There is indeed strength in fellowship.

See you, you thought Sunday was my favourite day because of the jollof rice? That too sha. Lagos camp serves great meals. I will spotlight those here. Our meals were served right on time and in good portions, to be honest. The bread they gave us? I’ve not had a whole bread like that to myself in a long time. Boiled eggs, hot tea, white rice (just the right texture), beans (I always added my garri sha), yam meals. The proteins were just right, too.

To be continued…

Thank you for reading. In the last piece, I will share about joining the OBS as I bring this story to a close. I hope intending PCMs have been able to pick up a thing or two, and you have enjoyed reading as well.

One bread to one person with either boiled egg or tea or butter…