My workflow as a Front-End Developer in 2015

Felipe Fialho
2 min readSep 3, 2015

--

Workplace

This year I started working remotely. So my house has also become my workplace It is important to have a nice and comfortable working environment, preferably close some places fun when needed..

I consider apartments a good choice for work and living, as they typically offer amenities like a pool and gym. It is important to have activities and places to relax your mind when necessary: A great place to do this is my balcony, pictured below.

My balcony and my cat.

Devices

A table for your equipment is an inexpensive solution that works very well. I find it important to keep a small notebook close for quick notes.

My workstation

A robust and reliable Operation System is very important — so I use Windows :). When I say “robust and reliable”, I am just joking. I really do use Windows, as you can confirm in photo above. The version is Windows 10.

My laptop is a Dell with the following configuration:

  • Screen 15,6' with Touch Display, IPS
  • Full HD (1920 x 1080)
  • Processor Intel Core i7
  • 16GB of memory
  • Card Video AMD Radeon M265 2GB DDR3
  • 1 TB HD + 8GB SSD

It is a robust configuration that has served me very well.

I also have a monitor of 23 ‘LG’s IPS as a secondary screen. Nothing is better than leaving Sublime on the main screen, and looking at the project uploading on the secondary screen in real time through the Browser Sync.

Of course … I have a cat, they are inexhaustible sources of entertainment and fun.

Agnes

Softwares

Basically the softwares I use to work are:

As support softwares:

Workflow

Currently I use in my workflow:

  • Stylus, CSS preprocessor
  • Jade, template engine
  • Zepto, JavaScript framework
  • Git, version controller
  • Grunt, task-builder
  • Bower, package manager

Important to remember that tools, softwares and all these modern wonders are just facilitators for doing the best job. You should worry more to the concept and less about the tools, because there is always something new around the corner.

Thanks!

--

--