Ray Ban Meta Glasses: A Luddite’s View

Live Good, Live Well
2 min readFeb 16, 2024

--

I’m normally quite reluctant and resistant to the trends and fads of technology, fashion and convenience. Call me a Luddite, if you will. I make my own laundry detergent, prefer to cook from raw ingredients over pre-made, processed and canned foods. I enjoy doing most things the hard way, my computer is hardwired instead of using Wi-Fi, and I thoroughly enjoy finding and using natural solutions over synthetic options. I didn’t own a TV for over a decade, and loathe LED lighting for a plethora of reasons. At the base of it all, I’m a naturalist.

But. These Ray Ban Meta glasses are cool. I can talk to my mom on them while doing the dishes, and hear her voice clearly, and she can’t hear the background noise. I can wear them driving, talk to my sweet wife without the distraction of my diesel motor, road noise or other environmental audio pollution.

That doesn’t even get into the ability to livestream and take pictures of what we see, with the tap of a button. I’ve worn them to listen to music on flights, and while setting up for events for my leather goods business. I’ve recorded videos of me making a wallet, and cleaning up my workspace. All while wearing a simple, stylish pair of spectacles. They charge fast and the battery life is respectable. Overall, a $300 well spent, and another point in the cool bucket for me.

--

--

Live Good, Live Well

Maker. Parent. Problem solver. Writer. Doer. Thinker. Feeler. Eater. Creator. Investor. Reader. Hugger. Laugher.