My little decoration

My first Saturday without internet, technology and a dopamine detox

Luccas Góes - Método Naghol
4 min readJul 12, 2024

--

Recently, I decided to take on a challenge I’d been putting off for a while: an entire Saturday without internet, without technology, and focused on a dopamine detox. It was a challenging experience full of lessons, which I’ll share at the end of the 4 weeks through a video on my YouTube channel.

For those interested in understanding more about the concept of dopamine detox, check out the full article that inspired me to take on this challenge:

The Beginning of the Journey

Right at the start of the morning, I felt a slight panic. The absence of notifications, emails, and social media left me a bit lost. It’s impressive how we’re used to filling every free minute with some type of digital stimulation.

Organization as Therapy

To combat this initial anxiety, I decided to clean the house. I started by getting rid of clothes that no longer made sense to keep, and this activity brought a great feeling. Letting go of things that no longer serve me felt like cleaning not just my physical space, but also my mental space.

Clothes I donated while they were still in good condition

Wandering Around the House

After finishing the household chores, I found myself wandering aimlessly around the house. This state of restlessness was new to me, and I realized I was used to always having something to do or some form of entertainment available.

Missing My Old Activities

During the day, I had a strong urge to play soccer. The lack of technological distractions made me reminisce about the tournaments I play in, but this was a day devoid of big thrills.

Amateur soccer league I play in every week

Aiming for 50, Almost Hitting 60

I tried to read 50 pages to finish my book and ended up reading 56! I had to break the reading into chunks of 10 pages, which made me realize how fragmented my concentration had become.

Missing Music

I had a strong desire to listen to music, something I do a lot while performing other tasks. Music has always been a constant companion and helped me keep the rhythm in my daily activities.

Bubbling with Ideas

My mind, fueled by idleness and reading, was bubbling with ideas. The book “A More Beautiful Question” inspired me to write a lot. It was amazing to see how the lack of external stimuli can spark internal creativity. Moreover, it allowed me to hear my thoughts, one at a time!

A Nap Came

I managed to take an hour-long nap in the afternoon, which was a real miracle. Normally, I find it hard to nap, but the silence and tranquility of the day provided me with this moment of rest.

A rare case in this house: sleeping in the afternoon

A Full 24-Hour Day

Finally, the day indeed seemed to have 24 hours. Without digital distractions, my time was much more productive, and I was able to savor each moment, one at a time. It was an experience that taught me to appreciate boredom and slowing down, something I want to repeat more often.

Interestingly, on Sunday, I thought twice before picking up my phone.

This experience was a powerful reminder of how important it is to disconnect to reconnect with ourselves and the simple things in life.

There are still 3 Saturdays left, and I’m eager to see the results. I’ll keep updating here!

📌 You’re working more than you need to, understand!

📌 Copy and paste a ready-made and validated template to organize your life and work in one place

📌 Mentoring and talks

📱 Instagram / Youtube /📱 LinkedIn / 📱 Tiktok /📱 Podcast

🔗 Official website, with all channels and products: https://metodonaghol.com.br

--

--

Luccas Góes - Método Naghol

Product Designer, and I created a healthy time management and productivity methodology called the Naghol Method.