Hi guys, during last weeks a lot of things have been discussed about Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe). Until now, I didn’t respond to these discussions, but I think it´s time for me to say something about it. People that knows me, they know that I try to be an agilist, I do not care if it´s Scrum, UnScrum, Kanban, Unkanban, Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe), UNSAFe, Risky or UNRisky.

Life showed me that there is no silver bullet for everything, each different situation requires a different approach and most of the times some customisation is needed to be successful.

Almost six months ago, I joined a fantastic company (hybris software). I acceded to this company as an Agile Coach, and one of my responsibilities is to help my team to make Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) a case of success.

When I joined the company, I was part of that 99,9 % of people that lately speak a lot about Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe), but do not understand it at all, because they never tried it

And yes, when I looked at Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) for the first time, I thought: “Oh my god, this is so heavy, this is not Agile at all, but let´s see where does it take us”.

Six months passed and now I am in a much better situation to do the first analysis of Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe). This post is not an explanation of Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe), for that, please check the official website here.

This post is a small personal explanation why I think Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) will succeed.

I believe the way how Dean created the framework is simply fantastic. Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) is designed in a way that can be implemented in both types of companies: the ones who know what they are doing and the ones that do not have any clue :D.

This framework was created in a way that allows typical old waterfall companies to adopt Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) without changing most of their processes, and at the same time having the stamp saying “We are Agile”. In my opinion, this is one of the huge reasons why Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) will grow during the upcoming years.

Is Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) helping these companies? I do not think so, but like I say: “Organisations have what they deserve if they do not have good people making decisions and steering the company in the right direction, they deserve to die.

If you want to continue you can see the rest of the article on my blog: https://luis-goncalves.com/scaled-agile-framework/

My name is Luis Gonçalves and I am an Organisational Transformation Coachand I love to write about Agile Retrospectives, Agile Retrospectives Ideas, Scrum, the role Scrum Master, and Agile in general.

I have been creating Scrum Master Training for the agile community. If you are interested in knowing more or even working with me you can find me here: Agile Coach München.

--

--

Luis Gonçalves

Luis Gonçalves is an Entrepreneur, Author & International Keynote Speaker. As a Management Consultant, he works with Senior Executives to improve Organisations