Font de Gaume and Human Kindness

Annie Li
Nov 12, 2020

--

Source: Scott Dexter, https://bit.ly/2IpP9iO

A few years ago I travelled to Dordogne, a region in South-western France upon the recommendation of a French friend. In the commune Les Eyzies, there is one of the last caves with pre-historic paintings that are open to the public in France. Plus, it is accessible by public transport. I decided I had to go before it would eventually be closed for conservation, even though it was quite a journey from Hong Kong.

The idea that people who lived 17,000 years ago could make such beautiful drawings was astounding to me (and still is). I was filled with awe all the time in the cave. Not only were the paintings beautiful, but the peacefulness and tranquility was also obvious even though we had no way of communicating with the painters to understand their stories. I felt that the people who drew these bisons, horses and mammoths were expressing their love for these fellow creatures and nature.

In his recent book Humankind: A Hopeful History, Rutger Bregman cited such art made by pre-historic humans, of which none depicts war, to make a case that kindness is part of human nature. My visit to the cave was not anything scientific but it echoed his observation. The short stay in the cave has served to remind myself to be kind. It will continue to do so.

--

--