The Thank You Economy — Books That Changed My Life Pt. 6

Liam Tucker
3 min readFeb 27, 2017

--

Author: Gary Vaynerchuk

This weeks book is very business focussed and is a great take on commerce in the modern world.

Gary Vaynerchuk is a sometimes divisive personality but what I appreciate most is how he speaks his mind and tells it exactly how it is. Everything comes from experience, not opinion and is told with no filter.

What The Book’s About:

It’s essentially about doing business in the modern world. About how creating a cycle of giving first is the best way to help you grow.

No easy steps to success, no buzzwords or jargon phrases just a simple philosophy on how to look at the world and create a business within it. One thats worked very well for him.

Why It Resonates With Me:

This was the first book I picked up from Gary and at a time when I was just starting to explore my own way in the business world.

I was searching for my own philosophy of how to do business and at the time I read this I felt it just managed to articulate my thoughts in a way that I wasn’t yet able to.

Favourite Quote(s):

“You cannot underestimate the sharpness of people’s bullsh*t radar — they can spot a soulless, bureaucratic tactic a million miles away”

“There are only two things that will convince consumers to pay more for something when they could pay less. One is convenience, and the other is an outstanding customer experience”

“The first thing that makes an employee happy is being treated like an adult. That means that until people prove they can’t be trusted, they should be allowed to manage their job as they see fit. The second is feeling that his or her individual needs are being met.”

“As it goes in life, so it goes in business. You have to keep working at every relationship in your life, whether personal or professional”

“Customers or potential customer can have some powerful emotions when they are considering using your product or service. They’re imagining what it might do for them, what they could make with it, how it could make their life or job easier, how it could affect their relationships or family. Those emotions exist whether the consumer is interacting with you face-to-face, or via chat, IM, blog, Twitter, or Facebook, or in a forum”

“I didn’t try to close too early, like a nineteen-year-old guy; I made sure to invest in the relationship first. Eventually people started to see my comments and think ‘Oh hey it’s that Vaynerchuk guy; he knows Chardonnay. Oh cool, he does a wine show — let’s take a look. Hey, he’s funny. I like him; I trust him. And check it out: he sells wine, too. Free shipping? Let’s try a bottle of that….’ That’s what caring first, not selling first looks like, and that’s how I built my brand.”

Who’s It For:

People starting out in business. People who are trying to make sense of how commerce works and anyone that sells a product/brand or service.

You can buy the book here: http://amzn.to/2mnbphc

I want to share with you the books that have a profound impact on me. I always find my books through chance encounters so feel I should give back and do the same.

I’m going to be sharing one every week so give me a follow and if you have any books you want to recommend, I’d appreciate it.

--

--