Think & Grow Rich — Books That Changed My Life Pt. 8

Liam Tucker
2 min readMar 13, 2017

--

Author: Napoleon Hill

I disliked the title of this book for a long time and it prevented me reading it. I knew it was a classic but it felt like a ‘get rich quick’ type book for the more gullible among us.

Lesson of the story is don’t necessarily judge a book by it’s name (and if your a writer pay close attention to your title).

What The Book’s About:

A similar train of thought to the previous books I mentioned. It focuses on the mind’s role in translating thought into action and then result.

Although the focus is quite clearly financial, the concept of ‘rich’ within this book shouldn’t be taken literally. The context of rich is personal to each person. It could be money, love, happiness, experience. This is really about how to change your thought patterns to reflect your goals.

Why It Resonates With Me:

I’ve often had trouble mastering my own thought process and even though I had clear goals I didn’t have a strategy for obtaining them. This among other books solidified a philosophy for me personally that helps me get from A to B throughout the various goals in life.

Favourite Quote(s):

“When defeat comes, accept it as a signal that your plans are not sound, rebuild those plans, and set sail once more toward your coveted goal.”

“The starting point of all achievement is DESIRE. Keep this constantly in mind. Weak desire brings weak results, just as a small fire makes a small amount of heat.”

“The way of success is the way of continuous pursuit of knowledge.”

“Happiness is found in doing, not merely possessing.”

“An educated man is not, necessarily, one who has an abundance of general or specialized knowledge. An educated man is one who has so developed the faculties of his mind that he may acquire anything he wants, or its equivalent, without violating the rights of others.”

“Perhaps we shall learn, as we pass through this age, that the ‘other self” is more powerful than the physical self we see when we look into a mirror.”

“TELL THE WORLD WHAT YOU INTEND TO DO, BUT FIRST SHOW IT. This is the equivalent of saying “deeds, and not words, are what count most.”

Who’s It For:

Anyone actively looking to improve themselves

You can buy the book here: http://amzn.to/2mDwNh2

I want to share with you the books that have a profound impact on me. I always find my books through chance encounters so feel I should give back and do the same.

I’m going to be sharing one every week so give me a follow and if you have any books you want to recommend, I’d appreciate it.

--

--