How I Went from A Life of Fear to A Life of Joy Using A Simple Technique Anyone Can Apply

Yes, including you.

Liane Carmi
6 min readMay 5, 2020
Photo by Naomi Popa on Unsplash

It was 2012. We were sitting in our CR-V in the Lucky supermarket parking lot. I was pregnant, and it was hot.

My window was cracked open.

A man walked up. He was asking for change. I yelled something at him — I don’t even know what it was. Something along the lines of, “NO! GO AWAY!” I remember feeling extremely uncomfortable. Scared.

And closing my window in his face.

“What was that!?” My wife asked in disbelief.

I wanted to cry.

Until that point, all my life I had been scared. Afraid of everything.

Afraid of walking down the street. Afraid of people walking towards me. Afraid of speaking my mind. Afraid of what people would think, or say. Afraid of ever being wrong.

Later, I’d tell you that up until then, on a scale of 1–10 when it came to fear, I was at an 11.

But at that point, I didn’t know that. I wasn’t aware of it because it was running my life.

Something interesting happened at that point in my life. I was in the midst of a course called the “90-Day Challenge” with Jim Bunch.

--

--

Liane Carmi

Writer & voracious reader. I help people change the behaviors and emotions that cause them suffering. Find me at http://lianecarmi.com