DIY: Server / Network Switch Rack — Intro

Life-is-short--so--enjoy-it
3 min readFeb 8, 2023

--

After several months, finally I got my own Server/Network Switch Rack.

How it started

Since I got the 10Gbps Fiber Optic Internet from Sonic Internet, I started building my own Homelab ( super small ).

Sonic 10G Fiber Optic - SF Bay Area

11 stories

The first equipment I purchased was Ubiquiti’s UDM SE.

My previous NETGEAR R6700 WiFi Router only supports 1Gbps WAN port, so I decided to buy a Router which was the Ubiquiti’s UDM SE.

After that, I bought Synology DS1621+ during the 2022 Black Friday.

For me, it took around 6yr to buy a NAS. ( yep. I think too much and too much and too much lol )

Wanted to have a Server or Network Switch Rack

I think it might be around December 2022, I started wanting to have a Rack to put those Networking equipments.

I don’t have many Networking equipments, but I wanted to put them all together in one place.

So, I started googling around and searched small form-factor Server Rack.

During the googling, I found some people built their own Server Rack by using some woods including IKEA LACK or with something else ( IKEA Hack )

src: https://www.reddit.com/r/homelab/comments/ph3mxv/ikea_kallax_rack_part_2/
src: google search

Decided to build my own Server Rack

After having read and watched several posts and videos, I decided to build my own Server Rack. WHY?

  1. It’s flexible and customizable.
  2. with the similar investment, I can keep the tool after the DIY.

These are the two main reasons why I decided to build mine by myself.

After two months, I built my Server Rack

It took around two months to complete ( 95% ) the Server Rack from the moment I started thinking to build one by myself.

Due to the Client’s ( It’s me ) requirements, the project became way more complex than the original design and it required more tools and more knowledge.

Finally, here is mine!!

Gatsby’s 6U Server Rack / Network Switch Rack
Gatsby’s 6U Server Rack / Network Switch Rack

--

--

Life-is-short--so--enjoy-it

Gatsby Lee | Data Engineer | City Farmer | Philosopher | Lexus GX460 Owner | Overlander