Raspberry Pi 5: Picked up 27W USB-C Power Supply

Life-is-short--so--enjoy-it
4 min readNov 20, 2023

--

After waiting for two weeks since the Pi 5 pickup, finally I got the official 27W USB-C Power Supply for Raspberry Pi 5.

Raspberry Pi 5: 27W USB-C Power Supply — Short Review

Disclaimer

“As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Intro

Although I was able to get a Raspberry Pi 5 on 7th of Nov 2023, I was not able to fully push the new Pi 5 to the limit as much as I wanted because the USB-C Power Supply I had was for Pi 4 ( 5V / 3A ).

I was open to use the new POE+ HAT for Pi 5, but I wasn’t sure when the POE+ HAT for Pi 5 would be available. Therefore, I was waiting for the official USB-C Power Supply as a alternative.

After visiting the local computer store several times daily, I finally got the official 27W USB-C Power Supply for Raspberry Pi 5.

No more warning from Raspberry Pi 5

I’ve been using the USB-C Power Supply that came with the Raspberry Pi 4 case bundle I bought before.

The Pi 4 USB-C Power Supply was enough for Pi 4, but it wasn’t able to provide enough power to Pi 5 when Pi 5 needs extra power.

If the connected USB-C Power Supply to Pi 5 is detected as not being enough to provides ( 5V / 5A ), then the Pi 5 shows a warning message when logging into it.

Even though there is a warning message, Pi 5 still works with the USB-C Power Supply. It’s because the Pi 4 USB-C Power Supply can provide the Pi 5’s minimum required power, 5V / 3A.

Short Review

5V / 5A

I don’t have much knowledge about Watt, Volt, and Amp. Based on what I read from the Raspberry Pi 5, 5V / 5A is required to get the best performance in Pi 5. ( I guess the 27W USB-C is introduced because it is 25W = 5V x 5I ). Pi 4 is 15W USB-C because the requirement is 5V / 3A ( 15W = 5V x 3A )

The interesting thing in Pi 5 USB-C Power Supply was that it supports various power like

  • 5.1V / 5.0A
  • 9.0V / 3.0A
  • 12.0V / 2.25A
  • 15.0V / 1.9A
Raspberry Pi 5: 5V/5A is recommended | 5V/3A is minimum requirement

Price

I paid 11.39 USD + Tax. It was the most cheapest price that I’ve seen so far online. ( I didn’t have to pay any shipping cost since it was bought from the local store. )

The Raspberry Pi 5 USB-C Power Supply is available on Amazon Marketplace. It’s price is currently 21.50 USD + Tax. ( Check in Amazon )

Currently, the Raspberry Pi 5 USB-C Power Supply is in little shortage, I guess the price on Amazon will stay on higher price until the production shortage is resolved.

https://amzn.to/3SOU5Ql

Thicker Cable / Long Enough Cable

The cable is 1.2m long and 17AWG captive. Since the Pi 5 USB-C Power Supply delivers 27W — 5V/5A ( higher than for the one Pi 4 ), the cable is thinker than one for Pi 4.

And, the cable’s length 1.2m ( ~ 4 feet ). It was a usable length, but I hoped it was at minimum 1.5m ( ~ 5 feet ).

The power adapter looks pretty solid. ( and white.. why? )

Shape of Adapter

I wasn’t happy with the shape of the adapter. When I plugged the adapter to the CyberPower PDU ( CPS-1215RM ), the adapter covered at least two slots.

If you have a PDU, then this might be one of the decision factors for purchasing.

I might buy Outlet Wall Adapter that can help change the Pi 5’s adapter direction, so it doesn’t cover other outlets.

Raspberry Pi 5: Pi 5 USB-C Adapter covers two outlets in my PDU. | Outelt Wall Adapter — https://amzn.to/46n4VQH

--

--

Life-is-short--so--enjoy-it

Gatsby Lee | Data Engineer | City Farmer | Philosopher | Lexus GX460 Owner | Overlander