Read before you buy YouTube Premium annual subscription

Life-is-short--so--enjoy-it
2 min readJan 14, 2022

--

Damn. I should’ve read more about it.

My Mistake

When I browsed the price, I saw three different price models, such as Annual, Individual, and Student. Somehow, I was blind. I thought the “Annual” plan is for Family plan. Damn. I know it is stupid.

So, by my mistake, I purchased the Annual plan.

Tried to upgrade to Family Plan

I tried to upgrade or change my individual annual plan to Family plan, but it is not possible based on YouTube Policy.

I have to wait for one year. WTH!!

Things to know before you start YouTube Family Plan

ref: https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/7507744#existingmembers&zippy=%2Cexisting-youtube-premium-or-music-premium-members

  • Family members sharing a YouTube family plan must live in the same household as the family manager. Learn more about family group requirements and what to do if you encounter errors while setting up your family plan.
  • You can only change family groups once every 12 months.
  • Each family member’s name, photo, and email address will be shared with the group.
  • If you need help with your YouTube TV family plan, you can get in touch with support at any time.

YouTube Subscription Price is DIFFERENT!!

Now, as you know, I purchased YouTube Premium for Individual. And, I can’t upgrade to Family Plan. Therefore, I want to buy a YouTube Premium for Individual plan for my wife separately.

I took my wife iPhone and opened YouTube App.

And, I went YouTube Premium subscription menu and found the price is $5 higher than what I saw on YouTube.com.

Well, I think I know why… haha.

While I am writing this post, I guessed the price difference might be caused by the commission that YouTube has to pay to Apple for the sale. WTH!!

Try Free trial First

Please try the free trial first. Honestly, I got blind by the annual discount although it is not much.

--

--

Life-is-short--so--enjoy-it

Gatsby Lee | Data Engineer | City Farmer | Philosopher | Lexus GX460 Owner | Overlander