The Best “Life Hack” I Found In 10 Years Of Self-Improvement

Warning: it’s nothing genius

Jonathan Peykar
2 min readJul 4, 2022
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

I was the Thomas Edison of dating. Life was shit as a depressed 25-year-old guy with no social circle. No “real friends”. Quite minimum experience with the ladies.

And tons of experience with rejections and what certainly does NOT work with women. “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways…”

Yeah. The reality was, I failed like a motherfucker and got rejected times and times again (and even filled up a short ebook full of life lessons which you can get here).

Then I made a decision: I stopped. And left all this self-improvement content behind me. I never looked back.

No more books. No more courses. No more Youtube videos from some guy who doesn’t give jack shit about his followers. I was done. And it was the best thing I’ve done for my growth as a man and person.

It didn’t teach self-reliance

“Do this. Do that. Use this technique and then routine.” Yes, but when do we get to the point where I finally rely on myself? When do I transition to relying on my instincts, opinions and actions? As far as the self-improvement industry is concerned, it’s ok if you consume their content forever. You need to know how to make the jump and view yourself as a master and no longer a student.

It didn’t produce results

If it would, I’d probably keep doing it. In the end, “results” are the only thing that matters. I don’t necessarily hate self-improvement. It’s just that you need to be very careful with what you consume. There’s a lot of content on the internet that serves as a great kick in the ass. But most of it is just that: a kick in the ass that gets you going, and nothing more.

I couldn’t make sense of it to the point of madness

I was going in circles. In what order should I have consumed all of this? And what’s the right way to go about this, anyway? Who’s wrong? Who’s right? Who’s telling the truth, and who’s not? It was a maze which I couldn’t get out of. I doubt ANYONE can make sense of all this.
I was going mad.

Conclusion

Forgetting about self-help can be a smart decision if you ask me, especially if you’re fed up with it. Once I left, I started feeling much more relaxed with anything I did. I have this burden in my mind- all the content and the standards it was imposing.

Join my email list for more

--

--

Jonathan Peykar

I share top shelf nuggets about marketing and self-improvement