Overcoming Limiting Beliefs: My Journey to Self-Discovery

Joy
4 min readSep 24, 2023

How my self-limiting beliefs stopped me from getting a permanent job

In December 2022, I received the call I had been eagerly awaiting from a prestigious law firm. It was the news I had been hoping for—I had successfully secured an internship opportunity set to begin in the summer of the following year, June 2023.

My excitement was palpable. This internship was not only a chance to gain invaluable work experience but also a potential gateway to a permanent position within the firm.

As the summer of my internship rolled around, my initial enthusiasm gave way to self-doubt. Despite possessing the necessary skills and qualifications, I found myself plagued by insecurities. Throughout the two-month internship, I grappled with feelings of intimidation and anxiety.

These negative emotions inevitably seeped into the quality of my work and my overall job satisfaction. Although I was juggling various other commitments, it was evident that my own self-perception was a significant hindrance to my performance.

Unsurprisingly, when the time came for a decision on a permanent role, I did not receive an offer.

Am I hurt by the outcome? Undoubtedly. However, beyond the sting of disappointment, this experience served as a valuable…

--

--

Joy

Sharing my thoughts and experiences one post at a time.