Connection Retry Schedule in Chrome Browser

Esen Sagynov
1 min readApr 21, 2017

--

It’s interesting to know that Google Chrome browser performs 5 attempts to connect to a remote resource.

Connection Retry Schedule in Chrome Browser.

As you can see in the above screenshot, the http://localhost was down, and the browser tried to connect to it:

  • first time;
  • then the second time after 5 seconds;
  • then the third time after 30 seconds;
  • then the fourth time after 1 minute;
  • then the last fifth time after 5 minutes.

The reason I noticed this was that often times I open a browser before I start the local Web server for development. While the server is starting up, the browser shows that the site is unreachable. Then when the server is ready to serve requests, all of a sudden the browser refreshes even without me doing anything. At the time I thought “ah, it must have some kind of retry logic”.

Now I know that for sure.

--

--