Astrophotography: Moon and Venus, Jan. 31, 2017

John Wheaton
1 min readJun 4, 2017

--

HIROSHIMA, JAPAN — OK, I’m not really in Japan now, but I was when I took the picture.

I’m just now trying to curate the hundreds of photos I took during my month in Japan, and thought I’d share this. It’s not super-sharp, because I had no tripod and tried to brace the camera against a window frame to steady it.

The Chinese tune, “The Moon Represents My Heart,” (月亮代表我的心 Yuèliàng Dàibiǎo Wǒ de Xīn) most famously sung by Teresa Teng (邓丽君 Dèng Lìjūn) has been playing in my head lately. So, for me at least, a picture of the Moon seems suitable for the occasion.

Camera geek details: Nikon D3300, Tamron 70–300 mm zoom lens @ 135 mm, f/4 1/500 sec, ISO 12,800.

Teresa Teng was from Taiwan, and became one of the first non-mainland singers to become very popular in China. Nearly everyone in China knows this song, especially those who came of age during the Opening Up of the 1970s.

Sadly, she died young from asthma complications at age 42.

Now, for your listening pleasure, Miss Teng.

Originally published at Wheat-dogg’s World.

--

--

John Wheaton

I used to teach HS physics. Now I teach ESL in China.My blog, Wheat-dogg’s World, is at www.wheatdogg.com