Israeli Breakfast Salad

Lil’ Crumbnut
1 min readFeb 17, 2015

--

Who says salads are for lunch?

It is part of American culture to eat eggs, toast and bacon for breakfast. And nearly every morning I can get down with a frittata, omelette or fried egg/ vegetable concoction. I’ve even seen a few headlines in the news recently championing the health benefits eggs, which are not laced with the bad cholesterol we previously thought they were.

But I don’t always want eggs. As a college student, I am sometimes forced to eat eggs twice a day. So it’s nice to switch it up in the morning.

Enter the Israeli breakfast salad.

There’s not even a real recipe to this one. Be strong — you can do this.

My salad is composed of a cucumber, some yellow bell pepper, one carrot, Kalamata olives and feta cheese. I added a few grinds of black pepper, a sprinkle of salt and a bit of dried oregano (use fresh if you have it), then drizzled olive oil and lemon juice on top.

That’s it. And I made it faster than you can boil an egg.

--

--