The Staples Of Being Stuck In a Mindset

PromiseMe
3 min readApr 16, 2022

--

Losing Our Place-Lillian Brianne Locklear

Have you ever felt completely changed by a small tweak in your perspective?

I have always heard other smart people say that your perspective is going to change the world around you.

I didn`t actually think it would happen. It did though, in spite of my moronic ignorance.

There is something transformative that happens as you grow.

Something amazing and painful and completely draining all at once.

You begin, and realize that no matter where you are in life, you`re just starting. What`s this altering thing that I am talking about?

It`s simple.

You grow.

You grow, and as you grow, you learn your way into something different, for better or worse. You push your way through things, and nothing changes. You hope for the best, still, nothing changes.

One day, you slowly see things in a whole new way.

It can start with the way you see a flower.

A bird.

Even a wall of drying paint.

Whatever it is, it`s a start.

It begins withhow you see that flower, and then a person, a place, and finally,

The world.

All because you were willing to change the way you saw things.

I know how easy it is to get stuck in a mindset. It is always difficult to find a way out. But if you want it badly enough, you will get there.

Or, to say it more plainly,

If you`re stubborn enough, you will get there. If nobody can bend your will and put you off before you even start trying, then no one can stop you. Stop giving excuses. You know well enough what you are capable of. If not, go find out!

If I told myself that I was a crap writer and no one would want to read my writing, then where would I be now? Probably back where I was a couple of years ago; lying on my bed feeling sorry for myself and not accomplishing anything. I started publishing my work and ended up with higher self-esteem and less humility! (Not bad things… …mostly).

So, what are you going to do?

Where will you go from here?

Are you going to stay in your fixed mindset, or are you going to change it?

I am waiting here to see what you do.

See, I let the light in the darkest places

Let it shine, pain goes away

Nothing is permanent for me, yeah

Flowers, they bloom and fade away

The beauty, it happened inside of me

Even if it`s a memory

Courage, P!nk

By a certain Lillian Locklear, a young, hopeful, and possibly completely hopeless writer who hopes to change herself and others for the better. Or, she is just going to fall into a deep hole and drag her friends down with her.

Thank you so much for reading my Scatterbrainities!

--

--