Why I Try:

PromiseMe
2 min readJul 15, 2022

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

They tell me that the difference is in the making

But now I`m not so sure

It`s got me asking questions on the questions asked

And what I`m living for

And after a while of thinking and aspiring

I still don`t know what I`m doing

But I do know what I am not doing,

Avoiding, and eschewing

I am not living for boys or girls

I am not living for any other

I am not living right now

Just so I can grow up later

To be somebody`s mother

I am not living for school or getting schooled

I am not living for eating or not eating

I am not living for excercize, sex, or

Even just competing

I am not living for pleasure, pain, or (creating) violence

And I`m not ‘living for the ride’

I`m not living for you, or him, or her

And all joking aside

I`m not living because I have to

Or because of guilty obligations

Or because I want to spend my whole life going in and out

Of buses and subway stations

I`m not living because I like it

I`m not living for myself

And I`m not just saying that now

Even though later I`ll be living for someone else

And don`t you think it`s funny?

How all the reasons vary?

And how it`s usually the people that you love

That make the situation hairy?

And how nothing seems to make sense to me

Except for this one illumination

This one give and take phenomena

That I discovered after much consideration

That no matter what comes next for me,

As long as I`m alive

No matter what the other players say,

I`m living for the life.

--

--