My first $500 Earned Through Door-dash

Lily B
3 min readMay 27, 2022

What I learned and whether I’m going to continue using it as an income source.

Two months ago I realized that it was time to up my wages. Up until last week I was working 20hrs per week making coffee. I was trying to keep my work schedule easy so I can finally have a semester where work didn’t take my time from school. It was a success! But now I need to move on. Ideally I’d like to find a full time job, but am taking some time to adventure before I commit.

To help me earn money in between trips (and to help save for said trips) I decided to try door-dashing and instacart. Instacart is not the focus of this article but I will say that it hasn’t been ideal living in a smaller, lower income city. Doordash has been great! A little rocky but its given me a lot of flexibility and something to fall back on in case of emergencies.

What is door dash?

Doordash is an app that allows people to order food from restaurants in their city and have it delivered through “dashers” contracted by the app.

How does one make money from door dash?

Signing up is pretty easy and quick! You can dash either with a bike or with a car. You do need a license and insurance to use the car mode.

To dash:

--

--

Lily B

Welcome! I write about a variety of things. Medium is my place for ideas without a home.