Why I start to keep an English diary?

Lily Huang
2 min readJul 6, 2024

--

the flight to NTUsg when I started to form the habit of keeping diaries in English

As a uni student born in Taiwan whose mother tongue is Mandarin, I seldom have chances to use English in daily life, let alone speak or write in English. Yet, I’ve always had a dream in my mind that I wanna step out of my comfort zone to meet people from different countries one day, and it did come true.

Going on an exchange to Singapore

On June 28th to July 29th, 2023, I applied for the summer programme of Nanyang Technological University(NTU, Singapore) and this was my first time to go abroad by myself. I felt really excited to meet all the people around the globe there, and I set a goal for myself to keep an English diary every day during the journey, which not only helped me better my English but also memorize the precious moments during that one-month exchange.

Now, it has been one year after that NTU exchange journey, and every time I think of that journey, beautiful memories flow in my mind. Really appreciate all the people I’ve met, and also I love my courage and energy when in Singapore. Therefore, here I am to keep an English diary every day, hoping to seize the precious moments in everyday life, just like when I was on that exchange journey.

--

--

Lily Huang

Found her interests in writing at the age of 18. Found her passion of working abroad as an acupuncturist at the age of 22.