The power of doing nothing

Lily Shaw l SHINE YOUR LIGHT
3 min readFeb 4, 2022

--

Photo by Eden Constantino on Unsplash

It was Tuesday afternoon, Jan 11th, 2022. New Year’s resolutions hung in the air. Christmas lights were waiting to be taken down. Traffic was loud. Pundits on TV were busy being important. I was, however, lying on my bed, in the middle of the day, half-watching “White Collar,” and having absolutely no energy to do anything. Anything.

And the familiar self-talk flooded in:

I couldn’t believe I was lying on my bed in the middle of the day when I should be more productive–especially when the new year had just begun. What was wrong with me? Shouldn’t I be accomplishing things? I’m going to fall behind. Others are out there in the world doing important things, while I’m lying on my bed, wasting the day away.

But no matter how much I ‘hated’ on myself, I couldn’t really summon the energy to do anything.

So, I gave in. I gave up trying to do anything. I actually watched the entire episode of “White Collar,” listened to some music on YouTube, and reflectively gazed out my window. In less than five minutes, I had an epiphany…

…that I should write about what I’m feeling — and voila, I picked up my computer. And wrote this article. The one you’re reading right now.

As I was writing, my thoughts began to wander and I realized: December 2021 was one of the most productive months for me. When the whole world was busy celebrating and taking time off, I was working: I planned and curated my overall schedule for 2022, went to a chiropractor, signed up for courses that would enhance my current skill sets, overhauled my marketing materials, sent out gifts to near & dear ones — all the while taking measures to not over-expose myself to a global pandemic.

I was absolutely blown away — Not only had I been productive, but I had taken action on my highest priority steps on my own terms, in my own way.

Yet another epiphany hit me: When I was being productive, and checking things off my checklist, I never even for a minute congratulated myself, or told myself how proud I was. But the moment things slowed down I was ready to jump in on myself. If I wasn’t there to celebrate myself, I really don’t get to blame myself either. right?!

By giving in and giving myself that tiny, little break that my brain so desperately needed, not only did I acknowledge my needs (and daresay, engaged in proactive self-care), but, in those few minutes of not doing anything, I created space, and in that space:

The universe flooded in with its own type of self-talk:

  • Allowing me to come out of it: completely re-energized, with a fresh perspective, accomplish something of significant value, and reconnect with myself in a healthy way– thereby, creating something of even greater value: genuine self-care and self-respect!

So, next time you feel the need to push past your limits in the name of being productive or to simply keep up with the Joneses, remember to have the power to do nothing, and just give in.

Give in, create space, take the time to get re-energized, and watch the magic happen.

You’ll be surprised. I certainly was.

P.S. My intention is to connect and create a safe space for all those who desire to live a heart-centered life! Please share your TAKEAWAYS about this article below:)

Join in the Journey! SUBSCRIBE to my newly-launched You Tube channel for more empowering and self-help messages.

THANK YOU FOR READING!

--

--

Lily Shaw l SHINE YOUR LIGHT

Empower yourself: TAP into your Inner Power. RISE above toxic circumstances, & MANIFEST your dream life. SUBSCRIBE: https://www.youtube.com/@iamlilyshaw