Conversations with my Brother

Keeno
2 min readAug 8, 2018

--

12. Sad, sadder, saddest

J: I caught myself thinking with sadness about the fact that i never had that jaw dropping quality, i never was “that good” at anything. But what’s really sad is not that i wasn’t born with that innate talent, or the time it took me to develop few high-end skills. It’s that i actually needed it.

The hunger for an applause, the pleasure of dominance.

And the saddest thing, that we never seem to acknowledge to ourselves, is that in the middle of what was meant to be play ( and what isn’t?) it stops to be about improving ourselves, progressing, evolving, enjoying…- the things that actually might mean something. All that matters is whether I’ve beaten you.

At least be sad for the right reasons.

S: Once again you are right my brother. I have always been ashamed of not being the genius. I don’t know why, but I have always wanted that feeling and superiority over the other people. And I believe it is a common and primitive part of human’s nature. But we have to fight it, or at least dominate it in order to find the right reasons to be sad about. We do not have to be sad actually, but motivated to improve ourselves. One question though: how do we know we improve? We should compare with our past selves but also with our “idols”. So it could be a close call. Yeah…anyway… Work on your thing. And do not be sad for too long…

--

--