Pita Limjaroenrat (พิธา)
2 min readAug 20, 2024

**Announcement from Pita Limjaroenrat: A New Chapter at Harvard University as Visiting Democracy Fellow**

I am pleased to announce that a new chapter in my life will begin this academic term at Harvard University, where I will serve as a Visiting Democracy Fellow. This is an exciting opportunity to continue my commitment to promoting leadership and democratic principles across the ASEAN region.

Returning to Harvard holds deep personal significance for me. During my time as a student here, I was profoundly inspired by former leaders who came to the university as Visiting Fellows after playing pivotal roles in transforming their countries. They resided in Boston to help shape the next generation of leaders, without regard for race or nationality. I was one of those inspired nearly 20 years ago. Today, I am deeply honored to follow in their footsteps, carrying forward the vision of building a better society.

One aspect that makes this return to Harvard particularly special is the opportunity to engage with the global perspective that Harvard offers. This experience goes beyond just an American context; it provides the chance to learn from and exchange knowledge with leaders and experts from every corner of the world, ensuring a well-rounded and comprehensive understanding.

During my previous studies, I saw firsthand how textbooks became reality, as the principles and theories I learned were applied to real-world challenges. Now, I aspire to turn that reality into textbooks for the next generation of leaders, sharing lessons learned and experiences gained in the field.

During my time at Harvard, I will focus on two primary goals:

1. **Sharing:** I intend to share my experiences in leadership, political struggles, democracy, public policy, and fostering civic engagement. By connecting with the younger generation from across ASEAN who study at Harvard—not just Thai students—I hope to impart deeper insights into the political landscape, democracy, and socio-economic conditions of ASEAN to students, faculty, and scholars at Harvard.

2. **Learning:** I look forward to immersing myself in Harvard's rich intellectual environment, exploring global democratic practices, and innovative leadership strategies in areas such as economics, geopolitics, society, environment, and emerging technologies. I aim to gather knowledge that will enhance my ability to address the challenges we face in Thailand and beyond.

As my political tenure has come to a close, I am fully committed to using this opportunity to reflect on the experiences and challenges I encountered during my time in office. My work in developing the next generation of leaders at Harvard will be a rigorous exchange of political governance knowledge and interactions with global leaders, preparing me to return as a better political leader when the time is right.

I will also be traveling frequently between Bangkok and Boston, almost every month, ensuring that I stay connected to my homeland. This approach will enable me to apply the insights and strategies gained at Harvard to my ongoing efforts to advance Thailand and the ASEAN region.

I sincerely appreciate this opportunity and the support I have received. Let us work together to build a brighter future for the next generation of leaders.

With respect,

Pita Limjaroenrat

Pita Limjaroenrat (พิธา)

Former Prime Minister Candidate, 2023 Election winner of Thailand 🇹🇭