THE POWER OF BELIEF

Linda Rittenhouse
2 min readApr 26, 2024

Many joyous moons ago, a dear friend, fellow adventurer, travel buddy, happy hour queen, and partner in many a shenanigan gave me this journal. She was one of the few hearts who knew of my hope to one day become a published poet. Knowing that I scribbled poems on random pieces of paper, she wanted me to have a place to keep my creations. Something was said about going after my dream.

The gift became a pretty side table ornament for a long time, but whenever I saw it I was reminded of Karen’s gentle nudge and felt that tiny ember smoldering somewhere inside me.

Finally giving in to the quiet energy of Karen’s breath puffing my dream into its first flicker, I wrote this poem on the journal’s first page:

For Karen Erikson

It lay there
bejeweled yet forlorn,
awaiting the lines
that would bring it to life.

And yet,
all had been said
by its giving…

the powerful message,
“I believe in you.”

For many more wonderful years until her sudden death from liver cancer, Karen continued to be my fellow adventurer and steadfast supporter as the journal gradually filled. She cheered each of my kids’ books, applauded every contest entry, and was genuinely happy about each baby step I took. No matter what random time I might call her, she always offered an eager, thoughtful ear after answering her phone with, “Oh, boy! A poem!”

May we all be blessed to have a rare jewel like Karen in our lives to hold us up and to lift us onto the shoulders of their belief in our goals and dreams! And may we all look around, hear someone else’s voice, and gift them that powerful message, “I believe in you.”

--

--