Ease Is A Greater Threat To Progress

Lindiwe Davis
3 min readMar 1, 2017

--

Leaving a job, ending a relationship, starting a business, focusing on our health, or changing your image- if only there was a way to click our heels and start over with ease. Or twerk three times in a mirror (at home of course) and all will be well. So naturally Denzel Washington comes to mind and I started thinking about a fantastic Washington quote:

and I remember, “anything worth having or doing will not come easy.” Having it easy in life will never increase one’s emotional intelligence, wisdom, level of determination or understanding of life. And yes, this is simply an opinion. Firsthand, I can tell you there has been no free lunch in my life (and I love to eat) and since I recognize that my path has not been one of easiness, I work smarter and with intent to accomplish my goals and dreams.

However, hardship does take a toll on us all; it can run an individual down with no light in sight nor clear path to operate. I often wonder does it always have to be so hard? But then I remember I have these life lessons aka pellets of wisdom because of constantly being tested. I don’t know if I would go as far as to say that it is my lot in life to be tested and triumphant, but I will say it’s been a hell of a ride so far. Here are three things hardship has taught and/or given me:

  1. Foresight…. Think preparedness and anticipation versus being physic. Having this acquired talent is helpful while struggling with some of the delicious nuggets life can throw at us in the form of money (or lack thereof), job hunting, relationships and family drama.
  2. Acceptance… Gosh, it’s so hard to accept things as they are instead of how we believe they should be. I sometimes fall victim to this beautiful (can be time consuming) thinking. But accepting how things are is not holding up the white flag and surrendering. It is however, your time to review the situation, analyze the “happenings” as the situation has unfolded and work to clear a path for yourself. However, if the hardship is not of your doing and you are in the middle of a $%^t storm, then get an umbrella and strategy together for what you can do and it’s one step every day to resolution.
  3. Progress…Every time hardship enters your life; it is truly an opportunity to move forward. Hmm, in the moment it may feel like a big ass lion with a massive shiny mane is following you around (like a shadow) waiting for you to trip while going thru the hardship. But once you feel strong after the initial shock of the situation (whatever that may be), you must know that you will go thru it and finish it and be in a different place than when you started. That can only happen if you are open to the experience, hence you’ve just made progress.

If you remember nothing else, “ something great is about to happen, because everything has already fallen apart.”

--

--

Lindiwe Davis

DEI Advocate and Officer in Tech. Podcast Co-Creator and Host: A Stranger Down the Hall. Speaker+ Media Host. Culture Lover. Style Maven. Life Enthusiast.