A Reflection on Gary Young

Lindsey Elmore, PharmD, BCPS
3 min readJul 1, 2019

--

It was with a heavy heart that Young Living learned of the death of founder Gary Young. Gary was a man who changed countless numbers of lives, including mine.

The Myth Became Man

Before I started working for Young Living, I looked at Gary as larger than life. He was the founder of the modern day essential oil movement. A man driven by passion to better the world, genuine belief in the power of essential oils, and a relentless commitment to innovation.

Back in 2014, there was a job opening at Young Living for the Director of Education. I was set on fire. This job was mine; I could taste it. I took a chance, and I called the only Diamond that I knew at the time. Thankfully, she shared my enthusiasm for me getting the job. She spent the entire day calling, emailing, texting, and messaging on my behalf. By noon the next day, I had a call with Jared Turner and was preparing to fly to Utah for an interview. I flew in a couple of days early to look for houses because I was not leaving the offices without the position. I was getting this job.

Following a full day of interviews, I went back to my hotel. About an hour later, I got a call: Come back to the office because Gary wants to meet you. I drew in a deep breath, and drove back to the office. In I walked to Travis Ogden’s office, with Travis, Jared, Mary and Gary…

--

--

Lindsey Elmore, PharmD, BCPS

Dr. Lindsey Elmore makes science simple and writes about essential oils, food, and supplements.