In the immortal words of DJ Kool…

LMF
2 min readFeb 1, 2019

--

LET ME CLEAR MY THROAT.

(which one is me and which one is Stephanie?)

I’m sitting here in Tanzania, talking to my brilliant friend Stephanie about how we need to write more. About how we have things to say. About how we get overwhelmed by needing to have the branding and promotion machine sorted before we say anything. About how we’re t.i.r.e.d. (of the news. of misogyny. of racism. of capitalism.) About how the internet is full of click bait and YouTube stars who are paid to spread literal fake news. About how it’s hard to read the news because the news is bone-rattling.

And about how now, nonetheless, we need to get over our damn selves and write more.

I joined Nick Laparra on his podcast Let’s Give A Damn last week about power and critical analysis and activism and white privilege and writing. And it sparked me to write this post. I haven’t written with my own voice since Maureen and I ran sherights.com (and boy do I miss it, and her…hey, girl!). It’s been over two years, and the cobwebs gotta come off.

With brutal honesty, I admit that I will not always feel like I’m adding value to the discourse. I will not always feel as informed as I’d like to be. But the point is: it’s time to use my voice. It’s tiiiiiiiime.

(…and for some DJ Kool, too…)

--

--

LMF

New Yorker in Nashville (+ around the world). #feminist + #humanrights consultant. starting to feel like this life is one big amateur hour.